Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Gaston Point Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 253 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 18 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

42 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 24, 2013

I believe Gaston Point is a wonderful school. There is a caring veteran staff who work tirelessly everyday to ensure that my son gets the best education possible. It is a small school, with a lot of heart. I love GPE.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2013

I think Gaston Point is a great school because we go above and beyond to meet individual students' needs.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 12, 2013

I think Gaston Point is a great school, because the teachers differentiate instructions to meet individual students' needs on a daily basis. We believe every child can succeed.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 12, 2013

The teachers at this school are very devoted to the students. We have wonderful support from the community and have a very successful mentor program for the students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 12, 2013

Gaston Point is a wonderful school and a wonderful place for kids to grow and learn.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 12, 2013

The school has a great staff that is always striving to do what is best for their students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 12, 2013

A hard working school. Teachers work hard to make sure that the students are learning.


Posted April 12, 2013

We are always concerned that the needs of each student are addressed. We care that each child reaches their potential.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 12, 2013

My school is awesome! We pride ourselves on building relationships and helping our students to reach their maximum potential.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 11, 2013

Gaston Point has a great staff that is concerned with each student's education and to make them be the best they can be.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 11, 2013

I love working a different job and I love the kids. They make me laugh every day.


Posted April 11, 2013

I love working at the school, I love my supervisor and my fellow employees. It is great working with the kids.


Posted April 11, 2013

Gaston Point is a small school full of potential. The school has made tremendous strides over the past few years. The faculty at GPE is very caring about the students and their futures.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 11, 2013

Gulfport School District and Gaston Point Elementary truly believes that every child should learn using their learning style as the primary mechanism for instruction which exemplifies Excellence For All and our district philosophy.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 11, 2013

I have worked in this school for over 10 years and love the family feeling of staff and students and community. The teachers are caring and knowledgeable and supportive of each other and most importantly their students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 11, 2013

Some of the students at GPE work so hard to achieve their goals. I have enjoyed working with my students this year. I have seen great growth in all of them. Keep up the good work :)
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 10, 2013

GPE is a wonderful school that has devoted, professional teachers that encourage each student to perform to their greatest ability.


Posted April 10, 2013

The teachers are very caring and concerned for the academic progress of the students and work with them in many different ways to make sure that they get the help that they need to be successful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2012

This school is one of the worse schools my children has been to. They do not ad hear to the rules, and just out right sorry. After a certain situation arose of when my daughter was forces to pull out her pants without parent involvement or notification, I transferred my children out of that school immediately. My daughter came home so upset and was crying. I could not believe that they had done such a horrible thing to such a young child. Never again. Not just that, but the some of the teachers just seemed uneducated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2011

The new principal is a breath of fresh air. She is really there for the students and makes sure the teachers are there for them as well. I'm looking forward to next school year!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
23%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
53%
Math

The state average for Math was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
57%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
60%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
30%
Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
57%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Writing - Informative Essay

The state average for Writing - Informative Essay was 89% in 2012.

30 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
95%
Scale: % Score 2, 3 or 4

About the tests


Until 2011-2012, terminating in 2012-2013, Mississippi used the Mississippi Writing Assessment Program (MWAP) to test students in grades 4, 7 and 10 in writing. The MWAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above 2 on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
43%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Science Test (MST) to test students in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MST is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 92% 50%
White 6% 46%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Hispanic 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 98%N/A71%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1526 Mill Ave
Gulfport, MS 39501
Phone: (228) 865-4656

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT