Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Pass Road Elementary School

Public | K-5 & ungraded

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 20 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 12, 2013

Pass Road Elem is one great school. The teachers leave work late and get to work early. They are even willing to wait on a parent until they get off work to meet with them concerning a student. I am happy to work with great people.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 12, 2013

Pass Road Elementary offers a BOOST program to help students that need additional mentoring in their school work. There is one volunteer mentor per student, and the improvements can be seen throughout the year. The students are very appreciative of their mentors.


Posted April 12, 2013

The first time I entered Pass Rd. Elementary I was amazed at how clean and welcoming it was. It's obvious the staff takes pride in their school. The teachers seem to go the extra mile for their students.


Posted April 12, 2013

I don't know the whole staff at PRE but the people I do know put 110% effort into educating the children that attend. If all educators were as dedicated to education as these people we [USA] would still be on top in education. Pass Road has achieved many recognitions over the years and graduated many accomplished scholars and athletes.


Posted April 12, 2013

Pass Road Elementary School may be small, but it is mighty. At this school everyone believes that all people can learn but at different rates and in different ways. The teachers and staff present a healthy, caring, and positive learning atmosphere. The belief that learning is a life long worthwhile process is not just an ideal, but the approach taken at the beginning of each day and carried on throughout the entire day. The close-knit family atmosphere is very comforting to students, parents, and staff. (It "feels" like home.) Pass Road has produced winners of full scholarships to universities, notable community leaders, and Olympic champions.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 11, 2013

I am on the staff in the cafeteria at 28th street elementary and I eat lunch there every day because the food is great because we are great cooks.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 11, 2013

My school is very kid freindly. They treat every kid the same. The staff here is very cooperative.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 11, 2013

My son has had the best learning experience a 1st grader could ask for at PRE! He comes home everyday ready to go back to school the next day. The principal and his staff's main concern is that all students are learning what they need to be prepared for the next grade. Common core watch out for the students coming from PRE.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2013

Having worked at several different schools Pass Road amazes me. I have never worked with such a hard working staff. Everyone treats the students like their own, they REALLY care about their success and well being.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 11, 2013

Pass Road is an awesome school. They are very helpful with the children and get all the shings that they need to help the kids learn what they need to learn and get them up to what they need to be in order to pass. The teachers are awesome and very helpful.


Posted April 11, 2013

As mentors in the BOOST Program at Pass Road Elementary, we have seen firsthand how the administrators, teachers, and volunteers work together to benefit the students and enhance learning skills. We have seen tremendous results come from the BOOST program. Students work hard to improve language arts and reading skills and significant improvement has been noted in reading ability. We believe in the effectiveness of the BOOST program and Pass Road Elementary in particular as a positive influence on its students.


Posted April 11, 2013

PRE is a great school with a faculty and staff who truly care for children. They believe that all children can learn and work diligently to bring students to their full potential. I would recommend PRE to any person looking for a challenging and exciting learning opportunity for their child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2013

Pass Road Elementary staff is always treated fair and everyone has the best interest of the children at heart.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 11, 2013

Pass Road Elementary staff is great to work with. You can't find a better stafff.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 11, 2013

Pass Road Elementary is a caring , high quality school. The combination of leadership and staff that truly cares sets an environment of a wonderful learning environment. Each day I walk into Pass Road it amazes me how up and "on their toes" about each days activities. Very Professional! Each child is treated with respect and taught the protocols of every day living along with the importance of learning.


Posted April 10, 2013

This is a great school! Students not only focus on learning but also in having fun! Academics is stressed at all levels but students are also allowed to have fun and particpate in various programs.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 10, 2013

PRE is a wonderful school that has devoted, professional teachers that encourage each student to perform to their greatest ability. The K-1 program is a great advantage to the children.


Posted April 10, 2013

Pass Rd. Elementary has an exceptional staff that work really hard to provide a quality education to all students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 10, 2013

This is a school with a BIG heart!! The administrator and teachers make you feel as if you are part of a family at this school. Parents are always welcomed with open arms and there is no shortage of events here! It is a great place to go to school and just a great place to be. Learning is FUN here!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2013

My children was transfered from another Gulfport School (that was suppose to be better). I am very pleased with Pass Road. My daugher(2nd Grader) was struggling at her previous school, any no one seemed to care or show any concern. The Principal seems "snobby" and could care less about the children in my opion. I may have seen her twice in the two years my children attended that school. Mr. Hudson is a Great Principal! He does a lot for the children. He makes learning fun for the children. Both my children are excited to go to school each morning. In the short period of time that my daughter has been there her grades are already improving....I am one Happy Mom!!! Thanks to all the Members of Pass Road!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
47%
Math

The state average for Math was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
67%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
71%
Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Writing - Informative Essay

The state average for Writing - Informative Essay was 89% in 2012.

59 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
93%
Scale: % Score 2, 3 or 4

About the tests


Until 2011-2012, terminating in 2012-2013, Mississippi used the Mississippi Writing Assessment Program (MWAP) to test students in grades 4, 7 and 10 in writing. The MWAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above 2 on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Science Test (MST) to test students in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MST is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Subject Assessment Testing Program (SATP) to test students in English II, writing, algebra I, biology I and U.S. history at the completion of each course. Students must pass all parts of the SATP in order to graduate from high school. The SATP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
English II

The state average for English II was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 62% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Subject Assessment Testing Program (SATP) to test students in English II, writing, algebra I, biology I and U.S. history at the completion of each course. Students must pass all parts of the SATP in order to graduate from high school. The SATP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 63% 50%
White 30% 46%
Hispanic 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Two or more races 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 92%N/A71%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

37 Pass Rd
Gulfport, MS 39507
Phone: (228) 865-4659

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



The Learning Center
Gulfport, MS


Westminster Academy
Gulfport, MS


St James School
Gulfport, MS



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT