Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

West Elementary School

Public | K-5 & ungraded | 9 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 10 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 2, 2014

WEST ELEM. IS SUCH AN AMZING PLACXE TO WORK. EVERY TEACHER, OFFICE STAFF, CUSTODIANS, AFTER SCHOOL CARE, AND TEACHERS ASSISTANTS ARE SO DEDICATED. WE HAVE A GREAT SCHOOL FILLED WITH BEAUTIFUL CHILDREN WHO LOVE TO LEARN. PLEASE HELP WEST WIN THIS.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 4, 2013

As a former principal of this school, I could not have envisioned West as it stands today. Upon my arrival 9yrs ago, the building was new and shiny. we had to keep the white walls white. Two prinipals and a summer later I cam say, "What a difference a summer makes!" Students and parents will enter a newly designed learning experience at West Elementary August 19. Kudos to the new principal, Kenny Hudson and the staff for their tireless efforts. The school is beautiful and inviting. I'm so excited for the children.


Posted April 14, 2013

West Elementary is an amazing school where teachers and administrators care about their students. West Elementary has an active PTA and its members strive to make the home to school connection effective. I am proud to be part of the West team!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 12, 2013

West Elementary is a hidden gem on the Gulf Coast! Students love being here and are excited to come to school every day.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 12, 2013

The administration and teachers have high expectations for all students. We provide a positive learning envrionment and experience for all of our students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 12, 2013

The teachers care for each student at West Elementary. It is their goal to provide the best education for each student. West is the BEST!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 12, 2013

West Elementary is a great school. The staff tries to follow the motto of the Gulfport School District.("Every Decision.What is Best For Children? Every Time.") This school has a great staff.Among this great staff are some on the best teachers :Mrs. Zanders 1st grade,Mrs. Drake 3rd grade, and Ms. Daniels 5th grade.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 11, 2013

This school is a quality school in the Gulfport School District. The teachers and staff are exceptional. They provide quality education to each student.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 11, 2013

Im a parent and a staff member and my grandchild enjoys her teachers and learning here at 28th street. She wouldn't never want to go to another school. And she loves the food.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 11, 2013

The teachers and administrators at this school care very deeply aboul the students . They work tirelessly to provide the students with the best possible education available on the Gulf Coast. Parents are always welcome , and there are frequent activities for parents to learn more about the curriculum. Thank you West Elementary!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2013

WE is a wonderful school that has devoted, professional teachers that encourage each student to perform to their greatest ability.


Posted October 11, 2011

I have been in the navy 17 years and this by far is the worst school my kids have ever been in. I pulled my kids out and put them in westminister academy. So if you are going to live in base housing send you kids to a private school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2006

i think west elementary is great. my daughter has been attening the school since kindergarten. and she loves the school and the teachers. it is the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2005

We LOVE WEST! As a transplant from the Northeast with a first grader who is ADHD, I have nothing but positive things to say about WEST. The teachers and administration truly love these children and it shows in everything they do. As an arts based school, every aspect of good, old-fashioned elementary learning is related to some art form. Everyone works within each childs ability and graciously accommodates disability -- without excuses. The very active PTO works very hard to provide the children with wonderful adventures. PTO night is the exception to every experience I have had. It is expected that parents will attend and participate. KEEP IT UP, WEST!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2005

West is the best. My daughter attends west in kindergarden and she loves it. She loves her teachers and so do i. You can talk to them whenever. Most of all what i like about west is how they challenge your children. My child is only in the kindergarden and she has alot of homework weekly, not to much to overwhelm her but enough to keep her busy. It makes me proud, if i can say that because i know that it all will pay off in the end. So west continue to strive higher and accomplish the world. Level 5.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
57%
Math

The state average for Math was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
56%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
53%
Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Writing - Informative Essay

The state average for Writing - Informative Essay was 89% in 2012.

48 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
98%
Scale: % Score 2, 3 or 4

About the tests


Until 2011-2012, terminating in 2012-2013, Mississippi used the Mississippi Writing Assessment Program (MWAP) to test students in grades 4, 7 and 10 in writing. The MWAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above 2 on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
47%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Science Test (MST) to test students in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MST is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 73% 50%
White 22% 46%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
Hispanic 2% 3%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 91%N/A71%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4051 15th St
Gulfport, MS 39501
Phone: (228) 870-1025

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT