Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

6-8 & Ungraded|Public district
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 17 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Oak Grove Middle School 2

Posted May 02, 2014
- a community member
The things that I was reading about this school had upset me. I would like to know that things has changed for the better over the years. I'm planning on moving from Louisiana to Mississippi and I was planning to enroll my daughter into Oak Grove Middle School. I was under the impression that this is a great school and I hope this is true. But, if it's not then I will not move to Mississippi and put my daughter into a negative environment.

Oak Grove Middle School 5

Posted September 20, 2012
- a community member
Thank you to Oak Grove for providing specialized instruction for Dyslexic students. Apparently most MS schools have been hesitant in recognizing the need to help these students, but Oak Grove has been ahead of the game. Thank you to the Administration and Teachers!


Oak Grove Middle School 5

Posted March 06, 2012
- a parent
My son has attended oak grove since 1st grade hes in the 7th grade now... We have moved but not from this district... Oak grove is a great school! The teachers are great the whole staff is great!! I have only 2 small problems... HAIRCUTS and EXCUSES! My son loves his mohawk but they are not allowed to wear them... Then one day the school called me and told me my son was sick and he needed to be picked up.. I went and picked him up. Later i found out it was unexcused.. Other than that they are awesome!! Thinking about moving to Hattiesburg Ms lamar county district OAK GROVE is the school!!!!

Oak Grove Middle School 4

Posted February 25, 2012
- a community member
oak grove middle school is great but should have a less strict dress code. some students like me miss the good times when there was no uniforms and the teachers have less to worry about. the teachers are great!

Oak Grove Middle School 5

Posted March 19, 2009
- a student
I have gone to Oak Grove Schools my entire life and love all of them, but the middle school is by far my favorite. We are all like one big family and you always feel safe and wanted here. It's a GREAT school!


Oak Grove Middle School 5

Posted October 02, 2008
- a student

Oak Grove Middle School 5

Posted July 27, 2007
- a student
This is the best school ever! I love Oak Grove and don't see any reason not to! They offer great extra-curriculur activities. I am captain of the 7th Grade basketball cheerleading squad, which is a great example of the activities. The teachers are great and there is a no-tolerance policy for misbehaving, harrasment, and teacher disrespect. I love Oak Grove!

Oak Grove Middle School 4

Posted April 04, 2007
- a parent
Oak Grove Middle School is a great school, my daughter called another child a name and was wtirren up for it. I personally thought it was minor, but I did realize that its their policy and that's how they let the children know that they are serious, about what they believe to be unacceptable behavior. Overall she has had a wonderful experience with the school, teacher, and staff.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Oak Grove Middle School
2543 Old Hwy24, Hattiesburg, MS  39402
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. (601) 264-4634
Last modified Oak Grove Middle School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top