Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

North Forrest High School

Public | 7-12 & ungraded | 8 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 10, 2014

I grew up here. Spent 2nd thru 11th grade. I feel I got a fair education and have fond memories. Plenty of opportunity to participate in extracurriculars. Currently a graduate student in Nursing. I believe I was well prepared for college.


Posted April 23, 2013

Some of the administrators are more worried about what you're wearing than what the students are actual learning. You have administrators talking to kids about their personal life, playing around, dancing in classroom and joking around with the kids that the kids don't take them serious when need be. And that make it hard for some of us to get respect from the students because a couple of the administrators is always flip-flopping. Therefore the kids do not care. There is no positive structure of leadership at NFHS at all just a lot of empty threats. Mainly referrals. I say there need to be mature individuals in charge of our kids. And stop showing favoritism when it come to our kids. If you allow one to get away with it you should allow the other kids the same. Other words it should apply to all students. Example; shirt not tuck in, listen to music, cell phone, etc....
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 24, 2012

NFHS is a school i was proud to go to growing up. My children now go to this school and i must say it isn't the same. The is no education for the children here and there are definetely no extra curricular activities. If you are a girl and don't play sports there is nothing else to do. I have been very disappointed in NF since my child starting going there. The teachers are more worried about being friends with the children or worried about offending a parent for disciplining a child. I have tried to send my child to another school district but wasn't able and i can't afford private school. NF is not a school i would recommed to anyone any more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2011

North Forrest High School, etc. is part of a school system which caters to the local residents. They are individuals that have lived in the community for decades. In the past, this system has always focused on the dress and behavior of their students. However, there are those (Teachers/Administrators) who take the enforcement of these rules to the extreme! It is my opinion, that the enforcers are "Poor" performing administrators or teachers. As a result, the teachers who are qualified are ran off by the "Poor" performing ones. Therefore, the children in this school system are left with no choice but to score "poorly" on the ACT or SAT test. Finally, parents get with the program and quit depending on the teachers, administrators and do more with your children yourselves! Take charge of what they are learning! It is a competitive world out there!


Posted September 30, 2010

an exemption in a classroom means you made the grade to not have to attend that class to take the exam. what school makes the children still go to class during the exam day? north forrest high. what is the reward in the class room of maintaining the grade that gets you to the point of exemption? in my day, being out of the classroom that day was the reward. it may sound small, but this is one of the reasons kids and teachers feel such negative feelings about this high school...and it's dissapointing and down right ridiculous...i dont see order, i dont see motivation, i dont see pride, i dont see unity, or spirit. and how do you instill morale? ...some traditions, like "being exempt" should still remain as such. i thought that was the education process--making the grade!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2010

The administration is more worried about what you're wearing than the education and safety of the students. North Forrest has overall suffered a tramatic decline in academics and discipline. I think the school needs to focus more on increasing test scores/knowledge of the students than what color the students belts are.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2008

I am a former student of North Forrest and I must say that the quality of educators and administrators for the Forrest County School District has declined greatly. I am the daughter of a fromer educator and if he were alive he would be disgusted with the attitiude of the teachers guidiance counselors and principles at this school. I transfered my children to the school district and it had been awful every since. I care about education and they call about a logo on a white polo shirt . Is that what's important now in education belts and logos not actual education. If partents don't take time to educate their own children I am afraid they will leave the North Forrest worried about uniform compliance and not higher education
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2008

Ok lets address the first issue, if you are not an educator.. you have very little knowledge of what the modern classroom contains. I don't believe the school or faculty should share the burden of fault. Due to restrictions from the state and U.S. governments and parents alike, many teachers are left in the clasroom trying to teach children with a very strict set of guidelines and little or no money to aid in supporting the academic process. Let's face it people, it is a much different classroom from the ones we experienced during our high school days. As an educator in another local school district and former student at NFHS, I can personally say that NF was a great high school and the times are changing. If parent involvement in school sanctioned events like PTO increased, the proper measures could be met regarding deficiencies within the school and classroom.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 28, 2008

I believe that North Forrest High School is in trouble. NF needs to quit worrying about what color my belt is or what color my undershirt is and start to focus on academics. We have good basketball and football teams and thats just about the only good thing we have. Most of our teachers are not as caring and supportive as they should be, this school does have a handfull of good teachers.


Posted April 9, 2008

North forrest would be a much more efficient school if the administration and teachers would concentrate more on the academics than the dress code. Every since the new dress code has been in effect more students have been written up of dress code violations. How do you think a student can get the proper education they need if they are constantly being sent to the office for not having on the right colored belt or having the wrong amount of bottons on their polo shirt. This is silly and stupid. The education of the children should be given primary attention not the clothes!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2008

bad leader ship and teachers and uniforms bad idea and they get into the students personal business to much
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2007

North Forrest High School is on a fast downward spiral due to lack of equality. The current administration has failed to hire a staff that is racially balanced like it's student population. Today's youth need to see faces like theirs that understand their needs and can help address their issues. Times are changing, balance is very important and as time goes on necessary. Without balance you will see the South negative past spread like an infection in the schools. Youth need to see unity among staff, administration and teachers that teaching 'everyone' not just the high achievers, not just the white students, is the priority. You can teach without respect. Youth will show respect if they know teachers really are interested in them and vise versa.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2007

North Forrest isn't a terrible school. I wouldn't say it's the best but it's far from terrible. Most of the teachers really care about the students, and would do what they can to be sure we know the material. The sports teams have been overall good the past few years . Football has struggled but baseball and basketball have done really good. The problem is the kids don't do the work. The parents try to blame it on the teachers but it's really the parents fault. i say it's one of the best schools in the area .
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 4, 2007

We are so unorganized.We're getting uniforms next year also.The principal didn't even ask the parents or students their opinions on it.Just givin u some advice, don't go here!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 2, 2007

North Forrest is a horrible school. I am a student at the high school and do not like it as much as I want to. We have the worst reputation around forrest county and its because of our test scores. I get sick and tired of people saying how we are stupid, it is not the students, it is the teachers. The environment is friendly, but the education is horrible! I think we should get better teachers and we would be better off. I love the spirit the school has, but come on, education is the most important thing to me and my classmates, we strive to learn and have a better reputation.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 30, 2006

As a current high-school student, I know some of you parents have it all wrong about North Forrest. If you think that it is such a terrible school,why do your kids still go there? They don't have to go to North Forrest. For those of you who think we have no discipline, your right. Parents call at the school every day to complain to a teacher or principal which takes time out of their day that could be used helping their students. There is no time to discipline students simply because our staff is constantly on the phone with a parent If parents would come to PTO they would be able to discuss their child's actions afterschool so our staff could actually get something done during school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 28, 2005

I think north forrest is an all around great school. its not racist it has an even number of minorities and white. They focus on what they are supposed to and i really look forward to going to school each day. the principals are strict. you dont just sit around in class and do nothing, there is always something to do.Also with the new principals, mrs dobbs and coach freeman our school has become a better place.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 14, 2005

I agree, North Forrest is a terrible school! The division is not between the races, but between the have and have not's. They also cater to the high academic achievers and disregard the children who have learning disabilities, even though that child may have a high IQ. They don't want to help these children with alternative learning. They just want to stick them in 'special ed' and forget about them. So, if your child has special needs you can forget about getting any help or even any repect. To them, the only children that count are ones with very high grades.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2005

What a terrible school!!! Test scores are down, drop out rate is up, many teachers don't teach(everyday is video day at North Forrest), principals are unorganized on their best day, every time you call with a question you get a different answer or no answer at all, discipline is unfair(popular students get away with everything), teachers hound your students for money all the time, PTO is a joke, teachers yell at the kids, select parents run the school(the more you call and complain the more they side with you). The new principals have NOT helped. The school can't even schedule my child in the correct classes! Want to see the school spirit, when's the last time we won any kind of game? Don't let the low teacher-student ratio fool you, your student will not be in small classes. I suggest moving to the Petal or Oak Grove School District.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2004

North Forrest, in my opinion, is one of the best schools in this area. By putting more focus on academics and individual, one-on-one instuction, it becomes easier to exert your best effort in any classrooom. The faculty and administration are very personable, and show genuine concern for the students. North Forrest has given many students a top-notch education, and will continue to do so for years to come!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 63% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
42%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
54%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
37%
Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Writing - Informative Essay

The state average for Writing - Informative Essay was 93% in 2012.

59 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
100%
Scale: % Score 2, 3 or 4

About the tests


Until 2011-2012, terminating in 2012-2013, Mississippi used the Mississippi Writing Assessment Program (MWAP) to test students in grades 4, 7 and 10 in writing. The MWAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above 2 on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Writing - Informative Essay

The state average for Writing - Informative Essay was 97% in 2012.

54 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
98%
Scale: % Score 2, 3 or 4

About the tests


Until 2011-2012, terminating in 2012-2013, Mississippi used the Mississippi Writing Assessment Program (MWAP) to test students in grades 4, 7 and 10 in writing. The MWAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above 2 on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
26%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Science Test (MST) to test students in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MST is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Subject Assessment Testing Program (SATP) to test students in English II, writing, algebra I, biology I and U.S. history at the completion of each course. Students must pass all parts of the SATP in order to graduate from high school. The SATP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 63% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
87%
English II

The state average for English II was 59% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
68%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 62% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Subject Assessment Testing Program (SATP) to test students in English II, writing, algebra I, biology I and U.S. history at the completion of each course. Students must pass all parts of the SATP in order to graduate from high school. The SATP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 60% 50%
White 33% 46%
Two or more races 5% 1%
Hispanic 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 76%N/A71%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

693 Eatonville Rd
Hattiesburg, MS 39401
Phone: (601) 545-9304

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Grace Community School
Hattiesburg, MS


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT