Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-6 & Ungraded
Public district
Hattiesburg, MS
Students enrolled: 718
 

4 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Thames Elementary School 1

Posted April 11, 2015
- a community member
Homework policy accommodates lazy parents without time to spend on their kids. This elementary school says homework should just review what has been learned. And another elementary school not 10 miles away says homework should be challenging and extends and builds learning.

Thames Elementary School 4

Posted October 27, 2013
- a parent
THAMES ELEMENTARY IS A GREAT SCHOOL THE COURSES ARE VERY WELL TAUGHT BY THE CAREFULLY SELECTED TEACHERS. THE PRINCIPAL SENDS TEACHERS TO WORKSHOPS IN OTHER STATES SO THEY CAN LEARN MORE TEACHING SKILLS FOR THE STUDENTS. THE STAFF THERE IS ALWAYS GREETING YOU. I JUST HAVE LOVED THE ATMOSPHERE EVERY SINCE MY DAUGHTER BEEN THERE. THE SCHOOL IS DIVERSE SO THAT IS GREAT FOR THE KIDS AND STAFF NO ONE IS TREATED DIFFERENT WHICH REPRESENTS OUR COUNTRY. THE SCHOOL IS ALSO IN A NICE COMMUNITY AND KEEPS THE SCHOOL AND GROUNDS UP. #PROUDMOTHER #KEEPSTRIVINGTHAMES


Thames Elementary School
no rating

Posted July 07, 2008
- a parent
Thames has been a great blessing to my child. We moved to Hattiesburg, not knowing what to expect in a new place, and we found that this school is considered 'the best in Hattiesburg' by everyone in the local area. Even many of my professors at USM said that Thames was great. After my daughter's second year there, we have been nothing but pleased. I also really love the fact that they teach the children Spanish twice a week.

Thames Elementary School 5

Posted October 11, 2007
- a parent
Great School Great Teachers!!!

Thames Elementary School 5

Posted October 24, 2006
- a parent
An outstanding elementary school! The music and Spanish program are wonderful, as are the very low class sizes- with a paraeducator in every class!The principal, counselors and staff are committed and caring. Our experience with the Hattiesburg Public Schools, and Thames in particular, was wonderful. A diverse, caring, challenging atmosphere and excellent elective programs-who could ask for more?


Thames Elementary School 5

Posted July 31, 2006
- a parent
The leadership, the quality of the teachers and the nurturing environment make Thames Elementary School an outstanding place to educate children here in Hattiesburg. The level of committment that all of the adults have made to making the children successful is evident as soon as you walk through the door!

Thames Elementary School 5

Posted January 20, 2006
- a parent
The quality if the academic programs at Thames Elementary are superior. This school currently has a program in place that allows all children K-6 to learn Spanish from Unversity Professors at the University of Southern Mississippi. I am not aware of school sports programs sponsored by Thames Elementary, but the YMCA sponsors a soccer league and this is a huge deal in Hattiesburg. I would say the level of parent involvement is about average. This school is located near the local university and several of the professors there send their children to this school. I have been very pleased with this school and my child enjoys attending school here.

Thames Elementary School 4

Posted January 15, 2005
- a parent
My son is in first grade there, and we have been thrilled with the education and attention he's receiving! He's been allowed/encouraged to work ahead of grade level in reading and math; also there is a strong climate of encouraging parental participation. We've loved the teachers, principal, librarian, and support staff. This is a wonderful school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Thames Elementary School
2900 Jamestown Rd, Hattiesburg, MS  39402
(601) 582-6655
Last modified Thames Elementary School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Thames Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top