Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hazlehurst High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 426 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 1, 2011

Hey! I will be graduating in 2012 and i will say i have loved my years at Hazlehurst High School. Even though our school wasn't fancy like other schools; Hazlehurst have taught me things to prepare me for my career. Some people might not understand what all my school has been through, but i must say EVERY SINGLE STUDENT AT HAZLEHURST HIGH SCHOOL HAS A BRIGHT FUTURE AHEAD OF THEM!! We on a mission to greatness!!! Im proud to say im a honor student at Hazlehurst High! I would like to give special thanks to my former principle Mr. William Tremell. He is no longer with us but your encouraging words will stay with us.. LOVE YOU
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 28, 2007

I am excited about the new school year at the Middle School with the new Principal, Mr. Davis. He is a young, energetic man with new and good ideas. Coming into a school that has been behind in the curriculum for the past six years or more, he has his hands full, but I feel he is the one for the job. If we can get the School Board to support him and let him incorporate his energy and ideas, this school district will move foward. We need more staff like him involved in our children lives. Let work together to make Hazlehurst schools the best schools in this area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2007

I think Mr. Davis means well for the school, but the school board is completely backwards. Athletics is the main focuse, and test scores are falling rapidly. Good luck guys!
—Submitted by an administrator


Posted August 6, 2005

I think Hazlehurst schools are one of the best school in the state of Mississippi. They have a hard working staff. And is determine to make sure all kids are learning. I am very satisfied with the progress at Hazlehurst City School District. Keep up the good work. The people that are complaining needs to help with their children with the development of their education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2005

I personally went there my whole career. This school is not challeging by any means. The kids aren't disciplined enough and most of them could care less about being there. While teachers are trying to work with those kids, the ones who want to learn are being held back. They have great extracuricular activities, but what good are they if they get you a scholarship and you don't know anything. And a comment about the state scores. The reason they are rated where they are is because that's all they learn. They take the study book for the test and drill the kids on it and thats it. I feel the test is a minimum of what the kids should learn.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 5, 2005

This is a great school. Many people dislike this school and claim it is a disgrace. This school has an awesome band, football and basketball teams, great cheerleaders and is currently rated '3' in state grade scores with 4 being the best and 5 is higher than any school is expected to make. They have good teachers in some areas just to be completely honest. Some of the children there are very respectful others, they require your respect before you get theirs. I would recommend anyone send their child there because yes, they do have their problems and people seem to see the bad side before the good but after a while, it's worth it. Take out the time to see the good and I promise you it will make you overlook the bad at Hazlehurst High.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 16, 2005

Do not send your kids here!!! my three kids went to school here (and at the middle/high school)and when our family moved two years later, their new school district put them back one-two years. And they had been taking honors classes before going to school there. It was very embarrassing for them. This school assumes these kids are going nowhere and makes no effort to change things.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Writing - Informative Essay

The state average for Writing - Informative Essay was 97% in 2012.

89 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
95%
Scale: % Score 2, 3 or 4

About the tests


Until 2011-2012, terminating in 2012-2013, Mississippi used the Mississippi Writing Assessment Program (MWAP) to test students in grades 4, 7 and 10 in writing. The MWAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above 2 on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
73%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 63% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
19%

2010

 
 
64%
English II

The state average for English II was 59% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
31%

2010

 
 
62%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 62% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
34%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Subject Assessment Testing Program (SATP) to test students in English II, writing, algebra I, biology I and U.S. history at the completion of each course. Students must pass all parts of the SATP in order to graduate from high school. The SATP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 98% 50%
Hispanic 1% 3%
White 1% 46%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 87%N/A71%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

101 South Haley St
Hazlehurst, MS 39083
Phone: (601) 894-2489

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Crystal Springs High School
Crystal Springs, MS



Union Academy
Georgetown, MS



Loyd Star School
Brookhaven, MS


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT