Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-1 & Ungraded
Public district
Hernando, MS
Students enrolled: 634
Before care: No
 

5 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Hernando Elementary School 2

Posted May 18, 2015
- a parent
Expects children to know all skills before entering their doors. It's "one size fits all" instruction and pity the poor 5 yr. old that doesn't get it after those 2 examples were put on the board. If you have a 5 yr. old that can't "produce" what they want FAST enough (timed test) and WHEN they want then you're in for a bad kindergarten year. Doesn't do a lot of good to discuss your child's strengths & weaknesses because they won't believe you!!! Giving HES thumbs down and hope they get off their high horse long enough to see their mistakes and make improvements.

Hernando Elementary School 5

Posted February 03, 2015
- a parent
Excellent staff. Facilities are old but well maintained. Security is excellent. Parking and pick-up drop-off are less than excellent due to the age/design of the streets but the staff does a great job of managing this process and makes it mostly pain-free. The school has excellent communications and always keeps parents up to date and as involved as they choose to be. The PTO is very good at addressing concerns on behalf of parents. Generally, I can't co think HES is an excellent school.


Hernando Elementary School 5

Posted December 01, 2009
- a parent
Absolutly love the school and teachers, wouldn't take my children to any other school!

Hernando Elementary School 5

Posted September 20, 2009
- a parent
All the staff is very nice & has been very helpful to me as a parent. My daughter has food allergies & everyone is very easy to work with & very careful in taking care of that situation.

Hernando Elementary School 5

Posted June 24, 2008
- a parent
great school! the staff is wonderful!!


Hernando Elementary School 5

Posted May 30, 2007
- a parent
parent involvement is very high academic programs are great music and extracurricular activities are great

Hernando Elementary School 5

Posted November 10, 2004
- a parent
My wife and I had two children attend HES for a year before we moved. The staff was great! The only problem that we had with the school is the over crowding that is occuring right now. There have been classes or meetings held in janitor closets! The school changed the entire process for dropping off and picking up children. It runs like clock work, and I couldn't imagine a safer environment for our children. It was a shame that we had to move. If given the chance I would move to Hernando again instead of other towns close by, just for the elementary school.

Hernando Elementary School 5

Posted July 27, 2004
- a parent
My husband and I could not have hired a teacher in the whole country better than the one my son had last year. (1st grade) The staff is great! The involvment of the parents is alsp terrific. Special attention is given to the children who need it, and on special occasions the staff is more than happy to accomadate the parents. We parents of the children who attend HES are so blessed. The experience is unsurpassed. Keep up the great work Hernando Elementary and thank-you for helping my son get the best education possible.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hernando Elementary School
455 Riley St, Hernando, MS  38632
(662) 429-4160
Last modified Hernando Elementary School is a Public school
Hernando Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top