Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

H. W. Byers High School (5-12)

Public | 5-12 & ungraded | 452 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 7, 2009

I graduated from H.W. Byers and attended for 7 years. The education was so below par that although I was in the top of my class in high school, I had extreme difficulty in junior college. I felt unprepared in every way both emotionally and intellectually and it has been a struggle to catch up to my peers. And, I was at the top of my class...
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 13, 2008

we are three 7th grade students who have our own opinion about this school.we think this school is awesome,test scores have really improved,and the teachers are doing a great job of teaching us.some people say this a bad school but it actually is a pretty good school.some parents are blaming the teachers for their children's bad grades but being students ourselves most of the time your children don't pay attention in class.so before you go blaming the teachers for your children's bad grades stop and think about how well your child pays attention in class. signed three 7th grade students
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 1, 2008

As an alumni of H.W. Byers Attendant Center, I have the pleasure to say that this school has changed tremendously since I was a student there. Test scores have improved a lot. Many clubs have been established like the '20 and Above Club.' Under the leadership of Mr. Hannah and other great faculty members, I feel that H.W. Byers will continue to strive for excellence. Watching these great faculty members is what made me want to enter the School of Education at my university. I hope to be joining this team in the near future so I can make a difference like they have.


Posted November 8, 2007

I am currently a senior at H.W. Byers High School. I have attended this school since 2003. I was nervous about coming to this school, but when I got here I was glad I came. It open me eyes to the 'real world' and what you encounter in life. As far as academic is concerned we are progressing each year. For the parents of those who are not satisfied with H.W. Byers, as a whole, education starts in the home and excels at school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 30, 2007

Before being critical of the school, walk a day in the shoes of the principal, the teachers, or the students. They are doing an excellent job with the few resources that are available to them.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 26, 2007

I think that H.W.Byers is a good school. I have been at this school every since kindergarten. I am a Junior at H.W.Byers right now! I think that the teacher want to teach the children but the some of the children arer not willing to learn.. I am among the students that want to learn but some time it is hard for the teacher to teach us beacuse the teacher has to stop work and yell at the students that are misbehaving. sometimes it is hard for us to learn with these students in the room. I think that misbehaving students need to be in one classroom and the students that want to learn be in another room. I like the New Principal that we have at H.W.Byers! Mr. Hannah is a lovely principal!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 30, 2006

I am currently attending H.W.Byers. I am in the 8th grade. Alot of people say that this is a bad school. They also say the teachers and other administrators are doing a bad job. Well I am here to say something to prove that wrong. I took the normal ACT with Collierville High students while in the 7th grade, and I made a 16. Two of my other class mates made 18. You may say that's not much out of 36, but a lot of 11th graders can't do any better.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 9, 2006

I am a former student of H.W.Byers, and I have two siblings, and several family members that go to H.W. Byers and it is sad that some parents blame the teachers because of your child's failure. If your child can not read, why don't you already know this! It is not the teachers job to RAISE your child, parents have a duty to teach your child something at home..I graduated #1 in my class, I graduated with high honors from college, and now I getting a Masters Degree, so H.W. Byers is teaching those students who are willing to learn. There are a lot of things that can be improved just like anywhere else but this is a great school. Parents who complain, please come to the PTA meetings, Board meetings, and open house to check on your child and not simply ship them off to school and blame everyone!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 20, 2006

This not a bad school we have a lot of postive things from Byers. Their should be more extra activites, but what we have lets make the best of it also. Our scores went up last year and that is something great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2006

I am an actively involved parent with three children at HW Byers Attendance Center. This school is just like so many other schools in America with some good teachers and some teachers who are just there to draw their paycheck. As a member of the PTA, we only average about 10 parents per meeting which is sad. If we as parents want a better school with better teachers and resources, then we must participate in the PTA and go to the Board of Supervisors meetings as an organized body. In addition, we as parents cannot depend on teachers and administrators to raise our children and effectively teach fundamentals. I have found that these teachers are faced with the challenge of discipling and instructing the students and spending a lot of time preparing for the MCT. Above all, our school should be commended for improving standards with limited resources and funds.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2006

I do not recomed this school for any child that has other options. very poor teaching skills and unhealty invioment to place you child. They are not equipt for the amount of students they already have not enough books,poor teacher and student communication,they are more worried about uniforms than they are getting the thing to use in the class rooms to teach these children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2004

I have two daughters attending H.W. Byers as we speak. I must say that I did not attend this school, but I am impressed that they do so much with so little. In saying that, I feel that it is a very good school. I agree that it has some faults but by in large, the faculty deserves our respect. If a parent doesn't feel that their child is not excelling at this school, then action needs to be taken. I don't mean to snatch the child out of the school; I mean to get more involved in their child's education. The teacher's job is to teach, but the parent's job is to reinforce what was taught. Someone has to stand up for what is right. The teachers and administration can only do so much. We as parents have to do our part.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2004

I am not a parent but I am a proud former student and its such a disgrace how you parents fault the faculty about your children's negligence. Most of my family graduated from HWB and my uncle, Mr. Coleman taught there for over 25 yrs.. therfore the school is not in fault, the teachers have a job to do and they do it well, the students also have a job to do but they don't want to realize that public education is a priveledge, not a right. So on behalf of all the people who attended HWB or Sand Flat, please belive in the faculty members. Don't listen to the negativity around you. -Leticia Coleman
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 31, 2004

If you love your child, find a way - far - far away from this alleged school. My daughter was 13/7th grade - while the school proved to be uninterested in her education - they worked overtime to humiliate her and teacher incited racial tension among the students. No Books - Pathetic Scores - Dangerous Transportation (school bus) An overall complete looser! Administrators responsible for allowing this situation to exist have all been promoted. Good teachers are running scared. Students retaking last years work to 'catch up' There should be a 'poison flag' on this one for any concerned parent!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2004

My child is 10 he is in 3rd grade! He faild 2nd gr. twice. Teachers said he would not do his work! This yr. he went to a new school, they found out he could not read! Within 2 mos. at the new school he could read on 2.6 gd.level!But it is too late for him he will always be very behind in school because of HW Byers! Parents! Please do whatever it takes to keep your kid out of this school! PS - I also went to h.w. my exp. was no better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2004

Ms. Cowan and Mrs. McFadden - they are excellent teachers and deserve a reward for their hard work.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
49%
Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
35%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
36%
Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
27%

2010

 
 
42%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
49%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
37%
Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
49%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
34%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Science Test (MST) to test students in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MST is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
18%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Science Test (MST) to test students in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MST is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Writing - Informative Essay

The state average for Writing - Informative Essay was 93% in 2012.

66 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
95%
Scale: % Score 2, 3 or 4

About the tests


Until 2011-2012, terminating in 2012-2013, Mississippi used the Mississippi Writing Assessment Program (MWAP) to test students in grades 4, 7 and 10 in writing. The MWAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above 2 on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Writing - Informative Essay

The state average for Writing - Informative Essay was 97% in 2012.

59 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
100%
Scale: % Score 2, 3 or 4

About the tests


Until 2011-2012, terminating in 2012-2013, Mississippi used the Mississippi Writing Assessment Program (MWAP) to test students in grades 4, 7 and 10 in writing. The MWAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above 2 on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Subject Assessment Testing Program (SATP) to test students in English II, writing, algebra I, biology I and U.S. history at the completion of each course. Students must pass all parts of the SATP in order to graduate from high school. The SATP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 63% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
91%
English II

The state average for English II was 59% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
67%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 62% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Subject Assessment Testing Program (SATP) to test students in English II, writing, algebra I, biology I and U.S. history at the completion of each course. Students must pass all parts of the SATP in order to graduate from high school. The SATP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 66% 50%
White 28% 46%
Hispanic 6% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 90%N/A71%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4178 Hwy 72 East
Holly Springs, MS 38635
Phone: (662) 851-7826

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Holy Family School
Holly Springs, MS



Marshall Academy
Holly Springs, MS



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT