Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Horn Lake Elementary School

Public | PK-2 & ungraded | 614 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 18, 2013

I currently have 2 children at Hle, both are in kindergarten. I absolutely love their teachers and assistant teachers. They work very hard and we work as a team. Both of my kids are in title 1 program and they do an excellent job. I have seen a huge improvement in both of my children. The principal is amazing. I can tell that they all truly care about all of the children there. Thank you for all that you do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2013

We moved to Horn Lake over the summer so my 2nd grade son has been at this school for less than a year. I really don't know weather the Title I Program the school boasts so adamantly is a curse or a blessing. Overall the staff & teachers seem nice. But I have concerns about attitudes and situations I encountered. Some teachers and staff seemed careless and were focused on the wrong things, lazy even. A lot goes on that is ignored between students-bullying, violence and inappropriate behavior that I saw as a parent present at school events during school hours. I find it's a common occurrence that money (or supplies) are requested (normally with short notice). Half the time the same is the case for any activities or programs (my son is in choir), last minute with hardly enough information provided about these things or the teachers will relay messages through the children that is either miscommunicated or entirely inaccurate. A lot of the parents aren't involved either. I wouldn't recommend this school to someone considering other options for their children, but it's probably better than most in Memphis and I suppose it could be a lot worse.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2011

My child has attended kindergarten at HLE. And while his teachers are exceptional,we will not be sending him back there next year. I love everything his teachers have taught him...reading,writing,sign language,some spanish!! And the administration is very good too!! They answer any questions I have to the best of their knowledge. The reason my son will not be going back to HLE is because of the other children. He has made alot of friends and he genuinely likes going to school. BUT,other kids have taught him extremely vulgar and unnecessary words and phrases!! He has learned words that he never would've heard at home or anywhere else for that matter!! I just can't tolerate my elementarty schoold child learning things he should'nt learn at such a young age.I did send his teachers a note and also contacted the guidance counselor. They were understanding and apologetic but said there wasnt much they could do outsidde of letting the parents know of the other children. And apparently the parents didnot care bc there have been many instances throughout the year. My husband and I will be looking for a house in another area of desoto cou
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2010

My son started his kindergarden yr and it was great but when he hit the end of 1st grade there was many concerns, the principal began stating that my son was ADHD, because he would do things like speak out loud, or get up to sharpen his pencil without permission, even though he made all A's and B's, they tried to force my husband and I to have our son evaluated. They punished him for dropping his pencil on the floor and said that he was seeking attention, they left him in a classroom while the others where having field day, by himself, in the dark. They eventually kicked him out of school. I contacted the board and they refused to hear me or even meet my son. They wrote him off as the "baddest kid in the school". We left and went to another school and he's doing great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2009

It is a great place to work. Teachers work very hard to provide their students the best education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2008

My daughter attended for kindergarten and now is in first grade. This school has an incredible administration/principal and a majority of the teachers are fabulous, but all are dedicated and there for the children. The school is wonderful at rewarding academic excellence and does a great job of keeping parents involved in their children's education, which is reflected in a majority of the children. The new Prosper aftercare program run at HLE by some of the teachers is wonderful and has really contributed to my daughter's improvements in behavior and school. I was private-schooled and intrepid about the education she would receive in public school, but I'm not worried while she's at HLE and city-wide extracurriculars/sports more than make up for what the school doesn't have.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2008

We transfered our daughter to HLE, and had some concerns with the change. The customer service that we received was great. The admistrive assitance was very polite when speaking with me over the phone. The principal gave us a tour of the school and we could see that she keeps the school secure at all times. We viewed her compasionte for the children and thier love for her as well. The first day of school we were nevrous, but they made us feel at ease and were very freindly. We were excited about the move and feel that we have our daughter in a great school. The school was very clean as well, and their moto of No Child Left Behind is posted as a daily reminder.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2007

I give this school a 10. Because of the teachers and the principals that work there. They are some of best educators I know and they really care about our kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2006

My son attends this school and he loves it. The teachers are great. I'm a single mom who is going to school and they help in so many ways. I couldn't ask for a better school. Thanks a lot for everything.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2003

My child currently attends HLES and I attended when I was growing up. D.A. Smith was the principal there when I attended and still is now. She loves the school and takes great pride in her students. The teachers are great at HLES also. I would not want my child to attend any other school!
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

Oops! We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Public and charter school test scores for most states come from the state Department of Education. The most common reasons we might not have this data are either that not enough students took the test or that the school was recently opened, and its scores have not yet been reported.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 45% 46%
Black 44% 50%
Hispanic 9% 3%
Asian 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 75%N/A71%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6341 Ridgewood Rd
Horn Lake, MS 38637
Phone: (662) 393-4608

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT