Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Horn Lake Middle School

Public | 6-8 & ungraded | 25 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 20, 2013

I moved here from San Diego, CA with my children. I will have to agree with the previous posts about this school! It does appear that this school is most concerned with minor behavioral issues rather than the education of the children! I have called and emailed the Assistant Principal 3 times requesting a conference to discuss some issues that I feel are not addressed correctly! We are still fairly new here so I am trying to give them the benefit of the doubt! I will be sure to post more at the end of the school year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2013

I would not advise any parent to choose this school as one that would educate their child(ren). It is unfortunate, but it is true. Unless you have additional outside support, your child will leave that school knowing less than he or she did when they started. There is no order whatsoever. There is no real desire for parental support unless cookies, candy or magazines are being sold. The STAFF shows partiality to the children, and the children themselves will tell you that they are not learning or practicing anything that inspires learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2012

Horn Lake Middle School does NOT care about educating children at the level they should be at. They do NOT work with parents that care about their children's education at all. I think they are more worried about a child stepping out of line while walking to the lunch room. We moved here from out of state and no one at that school requested my child's quim report to place her in the appropriate classes and they will just stick your child in the lowest classes. None of the staff will call you back when you leave a message and when you do get a hold of anybody they just tell you to bad because they are to lazy to care. DO NOT ENROLL YOU CHILD IN THIS SCHOOL if you want them to succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

The teachers really work with their students and it is a really good environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2007

HLMS is a great school for my child. The teachers work together to foster the excitement of learning. They work as a team, conference with the parents as a team, and show an enthusiasm that is infectious. As a matter of fact, I have seen the same type of teacher involvement in all of the Horn Lake schools so far. Keep up the good work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2006

I can not beleave i actually thought this was a great school for my children. I would advise any parent to please reseach this school before places your child there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2006

I was very upset with the attitude of the teachers. They were not teaching the children what they needed to know because the were afraid that black children would leave the schol with more knowledge than they wanted them to have.(white)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2006

Teachers at Horn Lake Middle School are the best and most supportive of our students in the entire district! You are lucky if your child attends this school. The leadership is wonderful, too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2006

HLMS is one of the safest schools that I have seen. The administration works very hard to make sure that my child is learning and is safe. I would recommend this school to anyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 27, 2004

I like the Principal at Horn Lake Middle school. I feel that my child is safe there and I like that she can play sports if she chooses.Her grades have improved greatly after moving her from the Shelby county school system. I am 110% behind the Desoto County schools and especially HLMS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2004

First off, the teachers for the years 2003-2004 in eighth grade was excellent. Mrs.Harper is a very demanding person, but she only does it to make sure our kids get the best education. Mrs.Stafford makes learning fun in spotlight and can understand the children in her classes. Mrs.Dunn is always supportive of good deeds and really helps students in English and Lit. She is a favorite of mine. Mrs. Little is great because she loves to have fun and teach the best way she can. Mrs. Eldred, who is probably my one of my tope 3 teachers ever is terrific. She makes learning easy and fun and gives ways to remember things such as pictures and little sayings that always help. She really cares about every single student she comes in contact with. She is a great role model for anyone. Last off, this school is just the best ever.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 11, 2004

Miscommunication between parents and teachers occurs quite often in most schools. However, one can be assured that the administration at HLMS has gone and above beyond in regard to maintaining open lines of communication through use of student agendas, phone notification of failing grades, monthly newsletters, in addition to having an open door policy. Concerns about a teachers instructional strategy should be justified to some extent but each teacher is 'highly qualified' and is competent in their area of teaching based on their consecutive level 5 rating. As a parent, one would be proud to have their child a part of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2003

I currently have child in this school. She is in her second year at this school and we are counting the days until she is no longer a student at Horn Lake Middle School. The reason we are unhappy is that last year we left almost 10 messages for the principal, George Loper, and to date, not one of them has been answered. My child had a teacher who was teaching Math wrong--not even close to the correct way--we requested a conference with the teacher and the principal. Guess what? No principal to be found in this conference. As parents, we feel it is our job to be involved in our child's education. This school does not foster that, and in fact discourages parental involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

374 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
44%
Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

371 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
48%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 63% in 2013.

337 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
42%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

336 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

400 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
47%
Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

398 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Writing - Informative Essay

The state average for Writing - Informative Essay was 93% in 2012.

413 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
96%
Scale: % Score 2, 3 or 4

About the tests


Until 2011-2012, terminating in 2012-2013, Mississippi used the Mississippi Writing Assessment Program (MWAP) to test students in grades 4, 7 and 10 in writing. The MWAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above 2 on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

401 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
46%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Science Test (MST) to test students in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MST is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

18 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Subject Assessment Testing Program (SATP) to test students in English II, writing, algebra I, biology I and U.S. history at the completion of each course. Students must pass all parts of the SATP in order to graduate from high school. The SATP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 57% 50%
White 35% 46%
Hispanic 7% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 65%N/A71%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Librarian/media specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6125 Hurt Rd
Horn Lake, MS 38637
Website: Click here
Phone: (662) 393-7443

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Sacred Heart School
Southaven, MS




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT