Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Horn Lake Intermediate School

Public | 3-5 & ungraded | 1133 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 16, 2013

I pretty much have nothing mice to say about this school. They are not trained nor equipped to handle children with severe ADHD. they started out with a behavior plan for my son but I guess that proved to be too much work for them and they quit doing it. Rather than try to help me with a plan that will encourage my son and work with him, the best they come up with is punishment, public humiliation, paddling, and suspension. What a way to "leave no child behind". Unfortunately this is the only school choice I have for my son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2013

We moved to Horn Lake over the summer so my 3rd grade daughter has been at this school for less than a year. I really don't know weather the Title I Program the school boasts so adamantly is a curse or a blessing. Overall the staff and teachers seem nice. But I have concerns about the quality of education and other students' impact on my daughter. For an exceptional student the struggle is that most students behave and perform so poorly. A lot goes on that is ignored between students-bullying, violence and inappropriate behavior-my daughter was ignored when she reported a boy snapping her bra strap repeatedly (after the fact she didn't know his name so nothing could be done about it). Money or supplies are requested often (normally with short notice) same is the case for any activities or programs, last minute with hardly enough information provided about these things or the teachers will relay messages through the children that is either miscommunicated or inaccurate. My daughter's teacher has a habit of giving my daughter incorrect information about things not pertaining to school lessons. I wouldn't recommend this school to someone considering other options for their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2010

I am fortunate to live in this district, I like this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2010

I have a son in the 4th grade at this school and we have had nothing but problems. The children are not well supervised and the other students are allowed to name call and be very cruel to others. I do not agree with the way things are handled ina non-professional manner and will do everything in my power to see that things from now on have some serious change.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2007

I agree whole heartily on the other parents reviews. It is great school but I feel that the teachers put to much stress on the kids. They are in the schools more than half the day and they come home with just as much work as when they are at school during the day. I have a fourth grader and he brings home work in every single subject every day. The teachers don't think about you might have other children with homework and that some of us work at night. I want my child to learn all he can and succeed in school;so please give their little brains enough time to rest in between school and home. I feel that the school has a great academic program and they just need to not put so much stress on these little ones at such a young age.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2005

HLIS I would like to start by congratulating Mrs. Bullock on her first year and a job well done. And I would like to thank Mrs. J. Shannon, and Mrs. Smith for a wonderful year, thank you for all your help with my child. Look forward to seeing you next year. I give everybody 5 stars for what you do at HLIS. Just helping out at the jump rope athon I got a little taste and saw just what everybody does around HLIS. So a job well done to everybody. Keep up the good work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2004

HlIS is a wonderful school if your child is going to the 4th grade. I clearly recomen Mrs.Ward . She is a wonderful teacher. She help me very dearly. She had 15 students when my I went and she paid close attention to each and every one of us. She was very fun . She always had something fun to do. I was in her class in 2003-2004 . She would always know what to say when you needed a good laugh, or when your down. I sat right in front of her desk.We always had a great time. She help me with alot of things. If you make bad on a test she'll know excactly what to say. We had a wonderful time in 4th grade. She was a first year teacher when I went. Every one loved her. Over all HLIS is a wonderful school to go to.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 14, 2004

My child is currently in 4th grade and struggling. I feel the curriculum consists of too many skills to master in 9 1/2 months. Therefore, students that are not as bright as others get left behind. That may be a reflection on the school board and not this individual school. I also feel HLIS needs to support the AR program more and possibly raise funds from the next fund raiser for it. They may have the required AR book in the library to read but not the program needed for testing. Reading is a huge part of a person's life. I do feel that teachers and office personnel listen to your concerns and have your childs best interest in mind. I would definitely recommend all Desoto County Schools over Shelby County and Memphis City Schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 59% in 2013.

352 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
48%
Math

The state average for Math was 67% in 2013.

352 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 59% in 2013.

381 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
49%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

379 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
47%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 59% in 2013.

357 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
50%
Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

356 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Writing - Informative Essay

The state average for Writing - Informative Essay was 89% in 2012.

314 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
82%
Scale: % Score 2, 3 or 4

About the tests


Until 2011-2012, terminating in 2012-2013, Mississippi used the Mississippi Writing Assessment Program (MWAP) to test students in grades 4, 7 and 10 in writing. The MWAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above 2 on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

356 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
42%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Science Test (MST) to test students in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MST is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 55% 50%
White 36% 46%
Hispanic 8% 3%
Asian 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 81%N/A71%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6585 Horn Lake Rd
Horn Lake, MS 38637
Phone: (662) 280-7075

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT