Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-12
Private
Jackson, MS
Students enrolled: 815
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Jackson Preparatory School 3

Posted June 03, 2015
- a parent
The school needs a true makeover! The school want a reputation for giving a lot of work. I am all for a rigorous program, but not to the extent where there is a lot of overload work unnecessarily especially when it's used to manipulate grades that effect "some students". Some of the teachers were not very approachable. It seemed that our concern led to retaliation. The school does not embrace diversity. Principle and some of the staff were unprofessional.

Jackson Preparatory School 5

Posted May 11, 2014
- a parent
My daughter is currently a senior and will be graduating in a week. We have been at Prep for seven years - we started in sixth grade. This school is a wonderful place to send your children. We have grown to love the kids and their parents. The curriculum is tough and 4.0 + grade point averages are not achieved without a lot of hard work. The arts department is very strong and if your child is interested in drama or choir/vocal performance, Prep is the place to be! I can't say enough good things about Prep. Things weren't always perfect, but what institution is that is full of teenagers? I love Prep and will be sad to say goodbye.


Jackson Preparatory School 5

Posted September 15, 2013
- a community member
I am a Jackson Prep graduate and I am so thankful for the education I received at Prep. While at the time, I did not always enjoy the level of difficulty, Prep prepared me for college and my "big girl job". Being able to say "I am a graduate from Jackson Prep." also opens lots of doors in Mississippi. I would highly recommend Prep to any parents or students who are looking for a quality education for their child in the Jackson area.

Jackson Preparatory School 1

Posted May 13, 2013
- a community member
Often times, certain things seem to exist only to serve as a lesser or greater counterpart to something else. For example, cats, for many people, are a better alternative for household pets over dogs. Inversely, for many families, dogs are a better option over cats. The counterpart to this school is St. Andrew's Episcopal school. The only difference is that unlike the relationship between cats and dos where one is only sometimes better than the other, St. Andrew's will always be better than Prep. Prep is basically St. Andrew's with less academic excellence and more racial tension. It doesn't matter what anyone else from just Prep says, I have attended both schools and I've seen the difference.

Jackson Preparatory School 5

Posted July 02, 2012
- a parent
We just finished our first year at Prep and my son could not be happier. I am very pleased with the education,study skills, and friendships he has developed over the past year. Prep is an excellent school and I would highly recommend it to anyone and everyone. Prep is about academics not about letting the parents rule the school. I really like that!


Jackson Preparatory School 5

Posted March 17, 2011
- a community member
I am a very recent alum of Jackson Prep. I know I can't speak for every student but, I had a great experience with the school. The course work is very difficult, but the teachers are more than willing to help the students any way they can, it is routine to offer help sessions for students in need at least twice weekly in each class. Most alumni I know have had very little trouble in their college work. With the focus being on college preparation they do an excellent job helping students with college admissions and they do a lot to help you find the college that's right for you, though the do tend to push students for more prestigious and expensive schools, occasionally disregarding ability to pay for such a university. Extracurriculars are wide ranging and there will be something for everyone. Some of the best people I've ever met in my life I met through prep extracurriculars. The one drawback I could cite is many students can be very mean to people who are different but isn't that true of all high schools?

Jackson Preparatory School
no rating

Posted December 14, 2009
- a parent
I graduated from public school years ago and never thought I would send my children to a private school. I decided to let my preconceived opinions go because I wanted the best possible education for my children. Prep is by far the best possible choice in Mississippi! No school is perfect, but we have been very pleased with Prep. It's tough, without a doubt, but graduates will be prepared for anything after graduation.

Jackson Preparatory School 5

Posted November 02, 2009
- a community member
Outstanding school, both in academics and athletics. Not an easy school but also not a overly difficult school. I graduated from Prep over a decade ago and looking back it is really evident of how well it prepared me for college level courses. I highly recommend Jackson Prep for anyone searching for a vessel of higher education.


Jackson Preparatory School 5

Posted October 01, 2009
- a student
I am currently in ninth grade at Jackson Prep. This school is very versatile in that it has many programs for the gifted and those who may be slower to learn. The teachers are brilliant and know things far beyond their subject. They are very kind and supportive. Also, they have a passion for what they do and it obviously spreads to the student. Jackson Prep is by far the best school with which I have ever had any experience.

Jackson Preparatory School 2

Posted February 28, 2009
- a student
This school cares little about the individual student and more about what it can claim as its achievements. It's all about show. There are times when it seems as though the headmaster cares, but she doesn't care. Many of the teachers treat the students with little or no respect. Others, however, are very dedicated to teaching and enjoy enriching the lives of their students. Your situation depends on the teachers you get. If you want to attend a laid-back school, don't attend Jackson Prep. If you want to spend your high school years stressing over minor details, being used in order to build the school's reputation, and worked to death, go to Jackson Prep. I'm a senior, and I'm ready to graduate. It can't come any sooner. Does that give you an idea?

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Jackson Preparatory School
Po Box 4940, Jackson, MS  39296
(601) 939-8611
Last modified Jackson Preparatory School is a Private school that serves grades 6-12
Jackson Preparatory School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top