Advertisement
Advertisement

Adhiambo School

Private | PK-5

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in Jackson

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $61,200. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $700.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 22, 2014

Excellent school that provides quality education!! The students at the school are challenged to perform beyond expectations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2014

Very well mannered classroom and enthused teachers and students! I can see the improvements in my son's academic quest. I would highly recommend Adhiambo!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2013

As an Adhiambo alum, Morehouse grad, and current Attorney I will simply say that if not for Adhiambo, I would not have achieved what I have thus far. Adhiambo equipped us with tools that most other schools didn't. When I left Adhiambo for JPS, I was leaps and bounds above my peers. Furthermore our cultural experiences made us as diverse as any 5th grader can be. We visited everything from operas to slave castles. God bless Adhiambo, the mission, and the administration. They have definitely shaped my life and outlined a pattern for my personal success.


Posted May 21, 2012

If you want your child to learn more about African History, that is great. But the school is not teaching your child how to compete nationally or globally. Their curriculum is not up to stardards as other great private schools in the Jackson area. The school is not diversed at all. Children need to be exposed to more diversity and culture. This school years ago had a good reputation, but now it is all about making money, while your child is getting more and more behind. I will not recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2011

Compared to other schools(public) in the immediate area, the school may be better. Compared to other private schools in Jackson, it is good at teaching about African-American history. This is the only benefit. The vision of the leadership of the school is limiting. I would love to see the school teach foreign languages, computer classes and incorporate project based learning to take it to the next level. You want your students to be able to compete globally--not just within a 5 mile radius.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2010

I really enjoyed my child's first year at Adhiambo. I was really impressed with all the information they are learning. My four year loves her teacher, classmates, and the school. If you are close hands on parent, like I am, your child will learn more than the average child their age. She can count, recognize, and write numbers to one hundred; identify, spell and write at least 50 words; adding and subtraction; and every two weeks new cultural awareness. Adhiambo offers computer classes for tots learning the basics keys, functions and words. I have one problem, yet we are progressing to change it, the problem is k-5. We are making plans for expansion to 8th grade. As a first year parent, I want to continue my child's education at Adhiambo Higher School of Learning. Thank you Adhiambo Parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2010

Adhiambo is a wonderful school and is family friendly. The curriculumn is a little tough, but it pays off in the end; students are challenged to excell to their full potentials. The staff and teachers are great and encourage the student's independence and self-exploration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2008

awesome school for children and parents. great staff and excellent curriculum; has strict but structured policies; a great environment for reinforcing values, morals and a sense of self.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2007

Adhiambo provides a great learning environment for my children. My third child will enroll in preschool this year. They excel in all subjects, but more in English and Reading.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3424 Robinson St
Jackson, MS 39209
Phone: (601) 922-1184

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT