Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Gary Road Elementary School

Public | K-2 & ungraded | 896 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 12, 2013

This school has been a great school for my son. We moved to Byram and was worried that the school would not be good for him because we had just left Chicago. Parents at this school are very involved. The new principal is strict but I know she aims to keep the kids safe. i would let my son finish out his elementary there because i know he is safe. Do not believe that are not learning because they are and my son is reading above his grade level and is not bored. He is learning the same thing he would be in Chicago.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2011

This is the worst school on the planet. Bullying, teachers are mean, teachers are unfair, the school office is a joke. Children always look grim and unhappy. One of the teachers even told a student "your parents must not love you at all". AWFUL AWFUL AWFUL! My son even told me that he never wants to look at the school again or go down the road the school is on. Tons of students are transferring to private schools because it is simply horrible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2010

I would never recommend this school to anyone! They have no art program for the kids what so ever. Also I had to go up to the schools a few times because of poor teaching and making sure the children are safe. The teaching staff was horrible my kids did get a bit higher vocabulary going there but the grammar was horrible. My kids would started a sentence with we Be or something of that nature and at first I thought my kids picked it up from the school but soon learned it was the teachers my kids were picking it up from. All of this is just the tip of the iceberg of how bad this school is but to make it simple teachers F, Principal F, and other parent involvement F.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2010

Great school and teachers with a good program
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2009

Would not recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2009

This school is open to the parents at all time for discussions and are there to provide for the children. The have the nicest principal I have ever met that cares about the children
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2008

My son is a student in Kindergarten this year and he loves it! The teachers are very friendly and keep you informed. He is reading to me and learns alot.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2007

My daughter started Kindergarten this year at Gary Road and I was scared of sending her to public schools, but my husband and I decided to try Gary Road. We could not be happier. Our daughter is reading to us! It is amazing how much she has learned, that other kindergarten kids are not learning yet. We are very pleased and we have another daughter that will start Kindergarten next year at Gary Road.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

Oops! We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Public and charter school test scores for most states come from the state Department of Education. The most common reasons we might not have this data are either that not enough students took the test or that the school was recently opened, and its scores have not yet been reported.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 73% 50%
White 25% 46%
Hispanic 1% 3%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 67%N/A71%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7241 Gary Rd
Jackson, MS 39272
Phone: (601) 373-1319

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT