Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-2 & Ungraded|Public district
896 students|Hinds Co School Dist
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 13 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Gary Road Elementary School 2

Posted April 28, 2014
- a community member
Gary Road Elementary leadership has a practice of not allowing grandparents (concerned family members) to visit the classrooms. The reason stated is that the students become too distracted. I don't agree with this practice. Parents or whomever the parent permits should be allowed to observe their students interaction in the classroom.

Gary Road Elementary School 5

Posted November 12, 2013
- a parent
This school has been a great school for my son. We moved to Byram and was worried that the school would not be good for him because we had just left Chicago. Parents at this school are very involved. The new principal is strict but I know she aims to keep the kids safe. i would let my son finish out his elementary there because i know he is safe. Do not believe that are not learning because they are and my son is reading above his grade level and is not bored. He is learning the same thing he would be in Chicago.


Gary Road Elementary School 1

Posted May 17, 2011
- a parent
This is the worst school on the planet. Bullying, teachers are mean, teachers are unfair, the school office is a joke. Children always look grim and unhappy. One of the teachers even told a student "your parents must not love you at all". AWFUL AWFUL AWFUL! My son even told me that he never wants to look at the school again or go down the road the school is on. Tons of students are transferring to private schools because it is simply horrible.

Gary Road Elementary School 1

Posted July 15, 2010
- a parent
I would never recommend this school to anyone! They have no art program for the kids what so ever. Also I had to go up to the schools a few times because of poor teaching and making sure the children are safe. The teaching staff was horrible my kids did get a bit higher vocabulary going there but the grammar was horrible. My kids would started a sentence with we Be or something of that nature and at first I thought my kids picked it up from the school but soon learned it was the teachers my kids were picking it up from. All of this is just the tip of the iceberg of how bad this school is but to make it simple teachers F, Principal F, and other parent involvement F.

Gary Road Elementary School 5

Posted January 07, 2010
- a parent
Great school and teachers with a good program


Gary Road Elementary School 1

Posted April 30, 2009
- a parent

Gary Road Elementary School 5

Posted February 10, 2009
- a parent
This school is open to the parents at all time for discussions and are there to provide for the children. The have the nicest principal I have ever met that cares about the children

Gary Road Elementary School
no rating

Posted January 07, 2008
- a parent
My son is a student in Kindergarten this year and he loves it! The teachers are very friendly and keep you informed. He is reading to me and learns alot.


Gary Road Elementary School
no rating

Posted November 28, 2007
- a parent
My daughter started Kindergarten this year at Gary Road and I was scared of sending her to public schools, but my husband and I decided to try Gary Road. We could not be happier. Our daughter is reading to us! It is amazing how much she has learned, that other kindergarten kids are not learning yet. We are very pleased and we have another daughter that will start Kindergarten next year at Gary Road.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Gary Road Elementary School
7241 Gary Rd, Jackson, MS  39272
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. (601) 373-1319
Last modified Gary Road Elementary School is a Public school
Top