Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Jackson, MS
Students enrolled: 278
Before care: No
After care: Yes
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

As the school leader of Brown Elementary since 2010, I welcome all parents and community members to our school. In the past two years, the staff at Brown has worked extremely hard to ensure our students are receiving the academic, emotional, and behavioral support they need to be successful.
June 7, 2012

4 stars
Based on 5 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


7 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Brown Elementary School 3

Posted February 03, 2014
- a community member
There's no such thing as a bad school. There's no way the building is bad. The students may be troubled but they were like that when I was at Brown. But my parents instilled in me the importance of education and I saw past that and became an accomplished young woman. Education starts at home. If there is none, of course the children won't adapt properly to the idea of learning and being socialized. I'm just saying!

Brown Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted November 03, 2009
- a parent
I have to agree with the other parent this is one the worst elementary schools I've ever dealt with! The principal is sketchy and will dodge you rather than talk to you your kids can miss school they don't call to ask why. Your not welcome as a parent to come and visit as a matter of fact they have a policy that you have to make a appointment to visit and can only stay for one half hour twice a week. For a school with many failing students you would think they would want parent involvement instead they act as if they have something to hide. My daughter has always loved going to school now I have to fight with her every morning and she cries when I take her she hates this school! Our first year here probably last!


Brown Elementary School 5

Posted July 06, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Brown Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 02, 2008
- a parent
This has to be the worst school in Jackson Ms. The principal does not serve as a good leader. He is too relaxed. Need to be firm. Most of the teachers are not caring. Too many students are not on grade level and so I have known teachers to not move on. Teachers need to be more caring, concerned and involved with the parents. This school does not like parents to come in an observe so they push parents away. Whats to hide? PTA (2007-08)----raise money for the school and who knows where it goes? No questions are asked except in whispers? However, Brown does have a good choir and music teacher. She is caring and teaches the students not only music. She is the best because she's motivated and bring out the best in students. Students will be low performers if teachers and parents don't push the students to success.

Brown Elementary School 5

Posted July 12, 2005
- a parent
I attend Brown my entire elementary years. It is a great school to attend. My son attends the school now. I could not have picked a better school for my son to start out in.


Brown Elementary School 5

Posted February 11, 2004
- a former student
I think Brown is a really good school. I attended Brown when I was a child so now I'm considering taking my children to Brown and we are in the Madison County School district. Don't be fooled by the school's location. And I'll leave it at that!

Brown Elementary School 4

Posted January 13, 2004
- a parent
Brown has quality educators and quality programs. Unfortunately there is not enough community support. This is a school on the verge of greatness. The staff is dedicated and careing.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Brown Elementary School
146 East Ash St, Jackson, MS  39202
(601) 960-5326
Last modified Brown Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Brown Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 7 reviews. Top