Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 27 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


31 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Chastain Middle School 1

Posted February 20, 2014
- a community member
I would give this school zero stars if I could and I go there. Chastain middle school is one of the worst schools. The teachers act just like the kids.

Chastain Middle School 4

Posted October 24, 2013
- a parent
My name is Latrice and my son attends Chastain. He is getting the best education that the state has to offer. He is in accelerated classes and he loves his teachers, it's rare to find good teachers still in this system.So all said , Great School!!!!!!


Chastain Middle School 5

Posted October 24, 2013
- a parent
Great school my child attends and her grades has improved tremendously .Keep up the good work.

Chastain Middle School 5

Posted September 01, 2012
- a community member
Chastain is still a great school with awesome teachers and fantastic students. Thanks for your kind and positive comments Brittany. You were a pleasure to teach. I wish you and yours the best. Mr. C

Chastain Middle School 5

Posted August 31, 2012
- a community member
Hi my name is brittany and i am from new orleans and i went to Chastain Middle during katrina and i felt in love it the school and the teachersand 7 years later i can still say that this was the BEST school i ever went to i am now having a baby girl and when it is time for her to school i am moving back to jackson mississippi so that she can have a change at being smart ! my childs mind will be as bright as she wants it to be and better then anyone in new orleans she will be somebody and i thank Chastain for opening up my mind to new people and new places. i cried when it was time to go home the people are so sweet and welcoming they made me feel like i was from jackson mississippi


Chastain Middle School 1

Posted July 19, 2010
- a community member
I went to Chastain 2006-2008. It was one of the most embarassing schools i've ever been to. With all the commotion going on at the time, whenever I'd be out and people ask me what school i go to and I said "chastain" they would soon begin apologizing about how they've heard what a bad school this is. I hear that once upon a time this school was pretty good. In the 80's. I think they should start from scratch and have a better program when it comes to discipline because I hated the fact that school seemed like going to a zoo every day. I really begged my parents to put me in private school during those horrible 3 years of Chastian, and though they never did, I am glad that I survived such a joke of a school.

Chastain Middle School 1

Posted April 19, 2010
- a teacher
Chastain's principal is clueless about teaching and learning for middle school students. This school was much better with the last principal. I feel sorry for the students who will be damaged by such a lack of leadership. This school is losing awesome teachers each year that this principal stays at this school. He has no true sense of the importance of a safe environment conducive to learning or a productive environment conducive to teaching.

Chastain Middle School 0
no rating

Posted March 02, 2010
- a student
Chastain is ...... not a bad school..... i go..... my grads are not bad it a grate school for your kid to have fun.. learn..... and more ...


Chastain Middle School 4

Posted October 12, 2009
- a parent
When my child attended Chastain in the 6th grade, I was not impress with the school. I was so adamant about my child not attending this school. However, I have observed a 101% academic attitude and the A's proves it. Continue to move forward Chastain.

Chastain Middle School 0
no rating

Posted September 29, 2009
- a parent
My son is in the 7th grade at Chastain this year and the excitement he has for school this year is truly contagious. I attribute this in great part to the number of great teachers he has and the support sytem Chastain is developing. I am continually impressed with how well mannered the students at teh school are and to committment of its parents, teachers and staff to make / maintain Chastain as a Great school. Chastain 'You Rock'!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Chastain Middle School
4650 Manhattan Rd, Jackson, MS  39206
(601) 987-3550
Last modified Chastain Middle School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Chastain Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 31 reviews. Top