Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

6-8 & Ungraded|Public district
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
28 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 32 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Chastain Middle School 3

Posted January 09, 2015
- a community member
Well since I've been at chastain every I had a good one except for one of the English teachers but the teacher I have now is wonder ( Ms.Whitley ) if I could I would give her 100 shars alone

Chastain Middle School 1

Posted February 20, 2014
- a community member
I would give this school zero stars if I could and I go there. Chastain middle school is one of the worst schools. The teachers act just like the kids.


Chastain Middle School 4

Posted October 24, 2013
- a parent
My name is Latrice and my son attends Chastain. He is getting the best education that the state has to offer. He is in accelerated classes and he loves his teachers, it's rare to find good teachers still in this system.So all said , Great School!!!!!!

Chastain Middle School 5

Posted October 24, 2013
- a parent
Great school my child attends and her grades has improved tremendously .Keep up the good work.

Chastain Middle School 5

Posted September 01, 2012
- a community member
Chastain is still a great school with awesome teachers and fantastic students. Thanks for your kind and positive comments Brittany. You were a pleasure to teach. I wish you and yours the best. Mr. C


Chastain Middle School 5

Posted August 31, 2012
- a community member
Hi my name is brittany and i am from new orleans and i went to Chastain Middle during katrina and i felt in love it the school and the teachersand 7 years later i can still say that this was the BEST school i ever went to i am now having a baby girl and when it is time for her to school i am moving back to jackson mississippi so that she can have a change at being smart ! my childs mind will be as bright as she wants it to be and better then anyone in new orleans she will be somebody and i thank Chastain for opening up my mind to new people and new places. i cried when it was time to go home the people are so sweet and welcoming they made me feel like i was from jackson mississippi

Chastain Middle School 1

Posted July 19, 2010
- a community member
I went to Chastain 2006-2008. It was one of the most embarassing schools i've ever been to. With all the commotion going on at the time, whenever I'd be out and people ask me what school i go to and I said "chastain" they would soon begin apologizing about how they've heard what a bad school this is. I hear that once upon a time this school was pretty good. In the 80's. I think they should start from scratch and have a better program when it comes to discipline because I hated the fact that school seemed like going to a zoo every day. I really begged my parents to put me in private school during those horrible 3 years of Chastian, and though they never did, I am glad that I survived such a joke of a school.

Chastain Middle School 1

Posted April 19, 2010
- a teacher
Chastain's principal is clueless about teaching and learning for middle school students. This school was much better with the last principal. I feel sorry for the students who will be damaged by such a lack of leadership. This school is losing awesome teachers each year that this principal stays at this school. He has no true sense of the importance of a safe environment conducive to learning or a productive environment conducive to teaching.


Chastain Middle School
no rating

Posted March 02, 2010
- a student
Chastain is ...... not a bad school..... i go..... my grads are not bad it a grate school for your kid to have fun.. learn..... and more ...

Chastain Middle School 4

Posted October 12, 2009
- a parent
When my child attended Chastain in the 6th grade, I was not impress with the school. I was so adamant about my child not attending this school. However, I have observed a 101% academic attitude and the A's proves it. Continue to move forward Chastain.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Chastain Middle School
4650 Manhattan Rd, Jackson, MS  39206
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 32 reviews. (601) 987-3550
Last modified Chastain Middle School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top