Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8 & Ungraded
Public district
Kiln, MS
Students enrolled: 1,039
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Hancock Middle School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted August 24, 2015
- a parent
Yes, the teachers require respect for others as well as themselves. This is an amazing quality.

Hancock Middle School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted August 24, 2015
- a parent
Yes, the teachers promote my children to care for others as well as their classes.


Hancock Middle School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted August 24, 2015
- a parent
My children have been treated very fairly. I have never had a problem with the teachers being dishonest with my kids. This school expects the children to their best.

Hancock Middle School 5

Posted August 24, 2015
- a parent
This school has been amazing with my children. It has some problems from time to time but over all it has been a wonderful school and the teachers are great!

Hancock Middle School 1

Posted January 31, 2014
- a parent
I honestly feel the teachers hate there job and children. They are constantly disciplining and handing out "silent lunch" why don't they start using positive reinforcement. The office staff is always grouchy and I feel don't want to be there. Why don't they let some enthusiastic positive teachers work there who actually like children.


Hancock Middle School 2

Posted October 18, 2012
- a parent
I just removed my child from this school because he was being bullied for his religious beliefs, not only by his peers buy also by the staff. The guidance office fails to protect these children during a crucial time in their development. It appears that they are more focused on discipline than helping figure out the underlying issues of children who come to their office. The staff and faculty are rude, condescending and refuse to give you any information about their procedures and actions. My child is a straight A student who was in the gifted program and placed Advanced-Advanced on his MCT's. He was taking advanced classes in 6th grade and then in 7th was denied the opportunity to continue because we were told the advanced classes were full and that their system runs on a three year average and since our child had only been in the district for one year he automatically went to the bottom of their list. They also refused to show me information that could explain how this happened. If you are a military family or any other type of family that has to move in and out of communities for your job, do not send your kids to this school.

Hancock Middle School 1

Posted February 27, 2012
- a community member
As the grandmother of a student at Hancock Middle School, I must agree with the post written by the parent on Feb. 26. I have said it before and will again: this school concentrates on punitive measures in the treatment of students rather than the more productive actions of energizing and focusing students in an appropriate direction with interesting classes and progressive learning techniques. Too bad the tone and energies at this school can't be redirected in a more productive and rewarding direction for the benefit of all.

Hancock Middle School 1

Posted February 26, 2012
- a parent
I have had nothing but negative experiences with this school. Teachers do not communicate what so ever. Discipline is more valued than education itself. My children have no homework ever. Teachers and staff are hostile. Children are given detention over something simple like not pushing in a chair. The staff dress unprofessional and wear flip flops to school while a child is given detention for a hemline of a school uniform. School uniforms are only available at the beginning of the year making it diffucult to upkeep uniforms. Why should a child ever have discplinary record over a school uniform?!!! Cameras should be installed in every classroom to enforce proper behavior of the hostile staff


Hancock Middle School 4

Posted February 21, 2012
- a parent
We transferred our child to this school and it was the best decision. The principal is quick with taking care of problems. The teachers respond in a timely manner and the office staff are very helpful. The academics are up with the other schools in southern MS.

Hancock Middle School 3

Posted July 24, 2011
- a parent
Structured school with little room for students to socialize during lunch. Seating is fill in as you go in line, very limited elective choices. Teachers will not meet with you after school you must go in the morning before school or during their planning time. Academics were average and students were given little homework. No opportunities for working parents to be involved.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hancock Middle School
7070 Stennis Airport Dr, Kiln, MS  39556
(228) 467-1889
Last modified Hancock Middle School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Hancock Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. Top