Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Laurel High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 6 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 14, 2014

I am currently employed at lsd. I come in contact with students and staff and the main concern i have experience with both is a lack of respect for others and conflicts of interest.


Posted February 20, 2013

The problem is...the teachers come in class with attitudes. Therefore students get smart back and mouth off by saying inappropriate things. The problem is not the school, its the students and teachers. Students show up to school not ready to get their education. They come and play, talk, and joke in class, not serious about their work. The other half of students dont even care they come to school because their parents make them and its not fair to those students who actually want to learn. All im saying is that parents need to work with their children about having a positive attitude and the school should also talk to the students about having an positive attitude also. When its all said and done the school will all have a positive attitude, and we will all be successful.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 20, 2012

R.H.Watkins use to be filled with students, teachers, counselors, and principals that had great pride in the students and school. They wanted us to be the best we knew how to be and to give it 100% effort into becoming better. Now there is nothing but teachers who really do not want to be there and they bad mouthing the students. Counselors who only protect a certain few and Principals who lack leadership skills. Oh and let's not forget the community that take away from the school instead of investing. No wonder most the children fall behind because the people over them lack pride and passion. The uniform policy is a shame and need to be done away with. I feel if the school Board was elected along with Superintendent positions, more people will have more respect for this school that once was the Pride of Jones County on all levels and not just sports.


Posted February 20, 2012

It used to be a great school until teachers stopped caring. I'm a 2010 Top 25 graduate, and I have to say that my experience was bittersweet. The first 2 years were great but the last 2 were not so good because no one puts in enough effort to help the students out. Although it is a mostly black school, it has been a good school. The teachers just need to step up and stop waiting on a paycheck. Teachers are supposed to be passionate about their jobs. Also, the strict uniform enforcement is a major distraction and a major reason why the school is not excelling. Too much attention is being drawn to what a student has on than on the lesson that needs to be taught. LHS just needs to get their priorities straight. This alone will solve most of their problems.


Posted August 3, 2010

I graduated from LHS Class 00; I was an all A & B student. I see there aren't any current posts to stand up for the school, so I will take the initiative. Yes the school has changed with the change in society and the changing of time. Now the students are required to wear uniforms, there is more security, there has been a major administration change; but this is still a great school in Mississippi. The teachers are very helpful and now the school has after school tutoring for ANY student and the buses will drop the student off at home. They have AP Courses, and College Prep Courses. For the student that want to achieve great things, this place is a great school to attend, YOU have to go after your education and LHS faculty/staff is there to help facilate that... C.Hill


Posted October 12, 2006

I am a graduate of R.H. Watkins (LHS) and enjoyed every minute of it. It was great socially and even more important is that it was great academically. I was able to take A.P. classes and was well prepared for college. I attended Spelman College in Atlanta and went on to earn a Master's Degree. I am now beginning work on a Doctorate. I love LHS!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 20, 2006

The teachers are really great and really care about All of the children. No world is perfect and alot of the children have an up hill battle just to be there each day. If a student wants to do well at this school, they will have all of the chances in the world.They send children to Ivey League schools and military academies.Lots of Jones County persons are afraid 'something' will happen at this school while their child attend it. It has been good to my children and I feel they are better for having attended it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2005

My children(3) have attended this school from 1996 until present and I think it has far exceeded my expectations. Their athletic and drama departments are exceptional. They send more students to 4 year collages than the county schools and have sent more students to Ivey League schools than others in Jones County. The racial make up this school is 75 % black and 25% white. The teaching staff is the reverse. Most whites are white collar professionals who know the difference in a quality education with the true diversity of life. There are problems here but they are no differnt than any other high school. I would not have done anything any differently. Look for a house in town!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Writing - Informative Essay

The state average for Writing - Informative Essay was 97% in 2012.

137 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
94%
Scale: % Score 2, 3 or 4

About the tests


Until 2011-2012, terminating in 2012-2013, Mississippi used the Mississippi Writing Assessment Program (MWAP) to test students in grades 4, 7 and 10 in writing. The MWAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above 2 on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
38%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Subject Assessment Testing Program (SATP) to test students in English II, writing, algebra I, biology I and U.S. history at the completion of each course. Students must pass all parts of the SATP in order to graduate from high school. The SATP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 63% in 2013.

170 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
49%
English II

The state average for English II was 59% in 2013.

199 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
27%

2010

 
 
37%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 62% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Subject Assessment Testing Program (SATP) to test students in English II, writing, algebra I, biology I and U.S. history at the completion of each course. Students must pass all parts of the SATP in order to graduate from high school. The SATP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 94% 50%
Hispanic 3% 3%
White 3% 46%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 89%N/A71%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1100 West 12th St
Laurel, MS 39440
Phone: (601) 649-4145

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT