Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
5-8 & Ungraded
Public district
Long Beach, MS
Students enrolled: 480
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Long Beach Middle School 3

Posted April 07, 2015
- a parent
I have had pleasant and unpleasant experiences with this school. There is little parental involvement, but it seems as though it is not welcomed. The administration is ok overall, but the front office staff is generally rude. There are rules in place that are not enforced. There are favorites within the school and it is very obvious who belongs and who does not, but I believe most would expect this from a small town. Many of the teachers are very friendly and helpful and there a are a handful who are not. There are plenty of activities and everyone should be able to find something to be involved in.
3 people found this helpful

Long Beach Middle School 5

Posted March 16, 2012
- a community member
Awesome school can do anything to help kids learn except for a few tis is the place to be


Long Beach Middle School 3

Posted July 17, 2011
- a parent
LBMS does not inform parents about what is going on at the school. The front office staff frequently ignores parents and other adults who visit the school (as in, they continue to work while an adult just stands at the office window for several minutes.) This is extremely rude and embarrassing. Parents do not feel welcome at the school. The administration does not like to be questioned about policies and procedures. Things are done certain ways because "that's the way they do things in Long Beach". Many administrators and teachers are connected to one another by family or marriage, and nepotism is very apparent in this district. This is good if your child is one of the "favored" ones but not so good if your family is not in the "inner circle."
2 people found this helpful

Long Beach Middle School
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a community member
Long Beach Middle School has been voted one of the best schools nationally and has grown tremendously despite the enormous hardships the physical plant as well as the staff and students have experienced and are still experiencing since Hurricance Katrina. They are all to be commended for their excellence.

Long Beach Middle School 5

Posted April 06, 2009
- a student
its an awesome school everyone there is so nice and will except you for who yuo are


Long Beach Middle School 4

Posted March 18, 2005
- a parent
Long Beach Middle School is an excellent school. As in any school their are exceptional teachers and teachers who need some work! All students can join several clubs as well as an after school campus life group that has many different denomination churches involved in it and do many different fun activities. Tryouts for middle school level sports have always been very well monitored and well run. As for the cheerleading tryouts, they are not predetermined before judging. The judges come from completely different districts. This year Ocean Springs. I don't know anyone who even knew who they were! No school is perfect but I feel like the middle school is on its way constantly making improvements!

Long Beach Middle School 3

Posted February 09, 2005
- a parent
I have respect for many of the teachers and staff however, there are many that treat the parents and students very disrespectfully. There are many communication breakdowns. I also think there should be more activities for all children to engage in NOT just the 'wealthy' ones. Long Beach shows it's 'favorites' special treatment and is bad with the political aspect. I have lived here for over 26 years.

Long Beach Middle School 2

Posted February 09, 2005
- a teacher
Unless you are in the 'click' of things, you are shunned. Student activities such as cheerleading are 'setup.' The students can tell you who will or will not get it ahead of time. Pleae know that I do think there are many great things and teachers here, but it is sad for the children that are left behind. I wish they would see this. Many of the teachers really care and want to see changes but feel powerless. LBMS has made some positive changes but have a LONG way to go.


Long Beach Middle School 5

Posted October 06, 2004
- a parent
My child came to the middle school from a private school and loves it! We have had a wonderful experience here both academically and socially. It is a great school that offers everything needed for a well rounded child.

Long Beach Middle School 3

Posted February 23, 2004
- a parent
At times it seems like teachers are allowed to talk to the students any way they choose to, there are teachers that continualy put the children down. There are some really good teachers and admin in this school, but some that still need work.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Long Beach Middle School
204 North Cleveland Ave, Long Beach, MS  39560
(228) 864-3370
Last modified Long Beach Middle School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Long Beach Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top