Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Long Beach Senior High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 22 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 14, 2011

Looking forward to getting to know my daughters teacher etc. , Because I have not been contacted by your facility yet . Looking to hearing for you soon . Mr. Dorrin
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2010

Superb academics and a great extracurricular activities program. Very welcoming and friendly for all new students. No. 2 academic scores in the state and not far from No. 1 by only a few percentage points. Academic programs are very rigorous, lots of ap classes in all disciplines and very competitive sports programs. Seems to have extracurriculars for just about every type of interest as well as some different science disciplines(marine science/zoology, etc.)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2010

Even though I ask for help, I mostly get promises, they would rather blame child than take actions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2009

I have children in both the Long Beach High School and the Biloxi High School. The attendance policy is ludicrous at LBH. Children miss similar days for similar reasons and Long Beach makes you go through hoops to get your child back in good graces. Biloxi has similar policies but used common sense and considered the entire situatiuon. Keep in mind, my child at LBHS has over a 3.5 GPA and LBHS still threatened not to give credit for the class. I did have a doctor's excuse but was not delivered within 5 days. The principle has an attitude and makes you feel unwelcomed to speak to her as if you are on trial. There are many teachers at both LBHS and BHS that deserve much appreciation and I thank them!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2009

I think the schools are very good. Given the traum of Hurrican Katrina I feel they are doing quite well. I love the super arts programs, especially the exceptionnal chorirs. The academic standards are high and the doors are open to parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2007

I am not a native of LB. Having moved here from Memphis, I was concerned about academics. I was very pleased to find LBHS to be competitive with the school my son attended in Memphis. In response to the attendance policy, parent notes are allowed if the child does not see a physician. Chronic attendance problems are not tolerated, though. The heart of the staff for the students is commendable. For lack of funding and an old facility, my child received a good education and was ready for college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2006

This school attendance policy is ludicrous. As a parent, you basically have no say so when it comes to your child's absences. Sometimes a child is not well enough to attend school, but a doctor's visit is not necessary. As a parent, you would think you would have this discretion, but not at Long Beach High. If your child has medical appts to attend, you may want to home school them or send them elsewhere; otherwise, you might find yourself in front of a 'board' explaining why your child's absences should be excused...unless you are in the 'LB good ole boy network'. Long Beach was once a top notch school, back when I attended, but the administration in place now has done an excellent job of screwing that up!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2006

As a past student of LBHS, I know firsthand the impact that this wonderful high school has had on me. No, the extracurriculars are not limited- there are many different clubs and activities offered to students and most go with very dedicated teachers. Yes, the school is a little worn out- but the excellent teachers and falculty make up for any problems. This school has character! I will be sending my children there!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 29, 2005

The academic program at LBHS is rigorous. Teachers pride themselves on providing a quality of education to each child. Students are given experiences that help relate what they are learning in the classroom to real life applications. Students are encouraged to be involved in sports or activities, offering around 40 different types of clubs at the high school alone. The level of parent involvement is low. Many of the students are very indepedent. Parents are notified about the activities, but, due to busy schedules and other parental obligations, the involvement of parents is not impressive. As with anything in life, there are a strong few who do whatever is asked and are always there to help and show support; and, there are others that never show up.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 30, 2005

I am a student at LBHS and personally i think it is an awsome school. I have been to a number of different schools within the state of Mississippi and I think Long Beach is the best. As soon as I came into the school people welcomed me and the classes are better than some i've attended. The extra cirriculars- just the basic softball,football, soccer,basketball...and there are only 2 choices for foreign language but theres a whole bunch of different art classes, a few speech classes, all sorts of different sciences to choose from (zoology,marine science) and plenty of other classes. There is also vo-tech. which is where you take courses at a nearby campus, those courses include things such as auto body, mechanics, different computer courses, ect) and as for clubs..there is debate, aeonian mount(which is like a annually published chronicle with art work, photography, and writings of the students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 10, 2005

Long Beach High School has a heart-felt community with a warm welcome. Many teachers at Long Beach exceed the characteristic intelligent and are always willing to assist students upon request. Veteran teachers like Mrs. French, Mrs. Spayde, Mrs. McIntyre, and many more have a tremendous impact on the academics, going above and beyond the criteria every year.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 6, 2005

If you happen to be the child of one of the locals, everything is catered to you regardless of what you do wrong! The sports are terrible and the coaches cater to the kids they know and do nothing to promote sportsmanship.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2005

The school is old and worn out. The learning experience is terrible. I would know because im a student there! The supplies are very limited the extra curricular activities are limited and there is a choice of only two foreign languages. The elective classes are limited. there also is no parent envolvement in the school and the principles are terrible, the only good thing we have is the superintendent who is awsome.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 14, 2004

Long Beach is the best school in the state. The teachers are top notch, and the drug problem here as it is anywhere else. I am lucky to live in such a tight knit community where my kids attend a school filled with a caring, educated faculty.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2004

I thought that LBHS was a good school to go to. The teachers are not up the standards I think they could be. The 'Drug Problem' needs to be taken care of in order for this school to become a top notch school. I would send my children there if i lived in Long Beach.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Writing - Informative Essay

The state average for Writing - Informative Essay was 97% in 2012.

190 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
99%
Scale: % Score 2, 3 or 4

About the tests


Until 2011-2012, terminating in 2012-2013, Mississippi used the Mississippi Writing Assessment Program (MWAP) to test students in grades 4, 7 and 10 in writing. The MWAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above 2 on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

202 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Subject Assessment Testing Program (SATP) to test students in English II, writing, algebra I, biology I and U.S. history at the completion of each course. Students must pass all parts of the SATP in order to graduate from high school. The SATP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 63% in 2013.

189 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
93%
English II

The state average for English II was 59% in 2013.

187 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
90%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 62% in 2013.

205 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Subject Assessment Testing Program (SATP) to test students in English II, writing, algebra I, biology I and U.S. history at the completion of each course. Students must pass all parts of the SATP in order to graduate from high school. The SATP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 77% 46%
Black 16% 50%
Hispanic 4% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 1%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 45%N/A71%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

300 East Old Passroad
Long Beach, MS 39560
Website: Click here
Phone: (228) 863-6945

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






The Learning Center
Gulfport, MS


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT