Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12 & Ungraded
Public
Long Beach, MS
Students enrolled: 876

3 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


21 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Long Beach Senior High School 3

Posted November 14, 2011
- a parent
Looking forward to getting to know my daughters teacher etc. , Because I have not been contacted by your facility yet . Looking to hearing for you soon . Mr. Dorrin

Long Beach Senior High School 5

Posted August 14, 2010
- a parent
Superb academics and a great extracurricular activities program. Very welcoming and friendly for all new students. No. 2 academic scores in the state and not far from No. 1 by only a few percentage points. Academic programs are very rigorous, lots of ap classes in all disciplines and very competitive sports programs. Seems to have extracurriculars for just about every type of interest as well as some different science disciplines(marine science/zoology, etc.)


Long Beach Senior High School 2

Posted June 19, 2010
- a parent
Even though I ask for help, I mostly get promises, they would rather blame child than take actions.

Long Beach Senior High School 0
no rating

Posted September 24, 2009
- a parent
I have children in both the Long Beach High School and the Biloxi High School. The attendance policy is ludicrous at LBH. Children miss similar days for similar reasons and Long Beach makes you go through hoops to get your child back in good graces. Biloxi has similar policies but used common sense and considered the entire situatiuon. Keep in mind, my child at LBHS has over a 3.5 GPA and LBHS still threatened not to give credit for the class. I did have a doctor's excuse but was not delivered within 5 days. The principle has an attitude and makes you feel unwelcomed to speak to her as if you are on trial. There are many teachers at both LBHS and BHS that deserve much appreciation and I thank them!

Long Beach Senior High School 0
no rating

Posted January 18, 2009
- a parent
I think the schools are very good. Given the traum of Hurrican Katrina I feel they are doing quite well. I love the super arts programs, especially the exceptionnal chorirs. The academic standards are high and the doors are open to parents.


Long Beach Senior High School 5

Posted February 15, 2008
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Long Beach Senior High School 5

Posted January 22, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Long Beach Senior High School 5

Posted January 07, 2008
- a community member
This review submitted without content.


Long Beach Senior High School 4

Posted May 02, 2007
- a parent
I am not a native of LB. Having moved here from Memphis, I was concerned about academics. I was very pleased to find LBHS to be competitive with the school my son attended in Memphis. In response to the attendance policy, parent notes are allowed if the child does not see a physician. Chronic attendance problems are not tolerated, though. The heart of the staff for the students is commendable. For lack of funding and an old facility, my child received a good education and was ready for college.

Long Beach Senior High School 2

Posted December 14, 2006
- a parent
This school attendance policy is ludicrous. As a parent, you basically have no say so when it comes to your child's absences. Sometimes a child is not well enough to attend school, but a doctor's visit is not necessary. As a parent, you would think you would have this discretion, but not at Long Beach High. If your child has medical appts to attend, you may want to home school them or send them elsewhere; otherwise, you might find yourself in front of a 'board' explaining why your child's absences should be excused...unless you are in the 'LB good ole boy network'. Long Beach was once a top notch school, back when I attended, but the administration in place now has done an excellent job of screwing that up!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Long Beach Senior High School
300 East Old Passroad, Long Beach, MS  39560
(228) 863-6945
Last modified Long Beach Senior High School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Long Beach Senior High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top