Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

7-12|Private
460 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 26 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St Joseph Catholic School 5

Posted June 19, 2016
- a community member
We were from out of town and moved when my son was in 7th grade. He did not adjust well and the public school did not support us with our struggles. St. Joseph was an absolute gift to us and our son. He thrived at St. Joseph and we were embraced by the other kids, parents and staff. This school will always have a special place in my heart.

St Joseph Catholic School 5

Posted February 10, 2015
- a teacher
A superb school that has shaped extraordinary students! It deserves its distinction as the top private school in Mississippi.


St Joseph Catholic School 5

Posted July 18, 2012
- a parent
I have two children in this school and it has to be the best in the area. It has a wonderful combination of academics, faith formation, and athletics. The teachers are excellent and really care about the students. The leadership is very strong and articulate. The school prepares students very well with many attending some of the finest colleges in the nation after graduation. A great value.

St Joseph Catholic School 5

Posted June 14, 2012
- a parent
This is a wonderful school. I see the silly, and mostly adolescent, postings about unfair teachers and snobby students but these comments could not be further from the truth. My grandchildren were in the 8th and 10th grades when they transferred to St. Joe and it has been both a heartwarming and intellectual experience. The students are the most accepting and welcoming we have ever encountered and the faculty and staff are always willing to go the extra mile. The academic curriculum can be challenging, particularly in the honors and advanced courses, but the college preparatory foundation is excellent. The arts and music are emphasized and their performing arts center is second to none...and the sports program has consistently been named the best in the state in its class. After 4 years at the school, count me as a huge fan!

St Joseph Catholic School 1

Posted June 09, 2012
- a community member
This school is terrible!! Kids are snobby, teachers are unfair and unkind, and I wouldn't wish that my worst enemie would go to this school!! I wish I didn't even have to give this 1 star!!


St Joseph Catholic School 1

Posted April 21, 2012
- a parent
St. Joe is by far the worst school in the state. It is really in debt and the teachers are terrible. Then, the teachers will give out test that the students are unprepared for. The public schools in the area are most likely better than this school and I am sending my child to Rosa Scott next year. If i was a parent considering St. Joe I'd advise against it.

St Joseph Catholic School 5

Posted February 23, 2012
- a community member
St. Joe is awesome. It is a wonderful atmosphere for Christians and students with an open heart and mind. The teachers are kind, helpful, and there for the students. The administrators and teachers are willing to sacrifice pay in order to give the students a well-rounded perspective throughout life. Although there are 8 classes, more knowledge is gained and the schedule isn't as tiring as it seems. Everyday, students have a place where they can express themselves, not be judged, and learn valuable life lessons.. not just math and science. That place is St. Joe. Paws Paws, Baby, Tails Tails. Go Bruins!

St Joseph Catholic School 1

Posted December 30, 2011
- a community member
Rip off don't ever send your child here keep your thousand of dollars a year, you could learn more at a public school or a better private school. It seems as if the school as gone down over the years: horrible teachers, mean administrators, snobby kids, and money hungry activities. This is supposed to be a christian environment..well think again.


St Joseph Catholic School 5

Posted October 13, 2010
- a parent
small class size, Christian environment

St Joseph Catholic School 1

Posted April 26, 2010
- a parent
This school is terrible and needs improvement. Students are snobby, and are involved in drugs. Most teachers are also snobby and take sides of the students who have more money. i have no complaints on the principal, Mr. Heller. He is a great man and does his best. Catholic schools are supposed to show that everyone is equal but they always leave out others for either money, grades, and how much there parents are involved in the school I do not recommend this school!!!! It is terrible!!!!!! It is not worth the money AT ALL. My child and her friends would come home every day complaining. They also have 9 classes. and i think 8 each day. That is too much for a teenager's mind. They also have no break all day and a 20 minute lunch.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Joseph Catholic School
Po Box 2027, Madison, MS  39130
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. (601) 898-4800
Last modified St Joseph Catholic School is a Private school that serves grades 7-12
Top