Advertisement
Advertisement

Madison-Ridgeland Academy

Private | PK-12 | 929 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Madison

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $229,700. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $760.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 8, 2010

Wow! What an awesome school!!! I have never been so happy to know that my child is in the hands of MRA staff everyday! We have experienced another private school in town and moved to MRA this year. My child is learning far more than most children her age and she LOVES learning! MRA has equipped her with more love than she has ever seen. I have a friend whose mother has been a tutor for some time in this area and she said that the MRA students are advanced compared to others in the area. I met someone today who moved to Madison to take advantage of the public schools and after 3 years, switched his girls (7th & 4th) to MRA. His very advanced children were very far behind. It has taken them 5 months to catch up and is still a constant struggle. They love it too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 31, 2009

As the parent of a 2009 graduate who attended MRA from preschool until graduation, I give the school 5 stars. My daughter's college professors have asked where she went to high school due to fact that she was 'more prepared' for her classes than many of her peers. While at MRA she was involved in many extracurricular activites and loved her school experience; however, the main goal of a school is college preparation, and my husband and I are very pleased with the foundation MRA provided. This foundation began in MRA preschool (the children score in the Top Ten percentile nationally on the Stanford Achievement Test) and continued through all the grades (one of the highest ACT averages in the state.) The other HUGE advantage of MRA is the Christian emphasis which continues at school the values we are teaching at home. I highly recommend MRA!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2009

MRA falls short in several categories. MRA affords the majority of parents little opportunity to be heard or have a voice in the direction of the school. Then, my daughter was enrolled in K3 last year and still has little to no reading or writing skills as promised by MRA. Due to a lack of private school choices in the area, we have re enrolled her in K4 this year. Also the school grounds are very cramped and parking is a nightmare. I am not sure how MRA's actual standardized test scores stack up to area schools either private or public. However, so far based on the level our child and her classmates are at compared to the children of friends and family in the area family in the same grades (private and public) MRA seems to be behind by a noticable margin.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2009

MRA has been wonderful for my 5 year old, who has been there since K3. He has a chronic medical condition that requires diligent supervision, and the MRA staff have welcomed him with open, loving arms. I have never worried about my chiild's safety while at MRA. My youngest son is starting K3 in the fall and we know he will love MRA as much as his big brother does!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 22, 2006

We moved to Mississippi in 2001. MRA has been the best choice we could have made for our kids. MRA has an outstanding academic program that challenged both our son and daughter. In addition to a great education MRA provides a warm and safe environment. I never worry about mine when they are on a school outing. I know the people in charge whether school officials or parents will protect my children as if they were their own. Any person moving to central Mississippi owes it to themselves to consider MRA. We are glad we did.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2005

MRA is a wonderful place for my children to grow and learn and prepare for college. I have 2 children. We moved to MRA from Memphis 6 years ago. I have been able to get work as a parent and really get to know the teacher and staff. My children are well rounded students and I could not be more pleased with their education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2004

Two of our three boys attended MRA in K-3, K-4, K-5, and 1st grade before we relocated to Texas. We believe that this great start helped ours boys immensely. They are both now in TAG programs, and we are really thankful for the knowledge and values that were instilled at MRA will benefit them throughout their lives. The great staff and close-knit parent group come together at many functions that create an atmosphere for learning and community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

In a town that has high quality public schools, MRA holds its own. Our exposure, so far, is limited to the younger grades. The teacher/student ratio is very good. Thus enabling the teachers to give our kids the one on one attention all kids should have. Even with the smaller number of kids, our children feel like they have a ton of friends. MRA gives us the feeling of a close-knit community of parents, teachers and kids. We've made many new friends ourselves. Through MRA, we feel safe in knowing that our kids are learning so many of the things they need to know in a safe and loving environment, having all the fun they can stand, making many life-long friends and all along not even realizing it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

MRA has always been an excellent school in academics and the teachers there are wonderful and care about each and every student. They really go out on a limb to fulfill their students dreams and education. It is a very close knit school where teachers know each and every parent and child and will do everything it can to make sure thier education is at its best.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 95% 41%
Asian 4% 1%
Black 1% 54%
Hispanic 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7601 Old Canton Road
Madison, MS 39110
Phone: (601) 856-4455

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Rosa Scott School
Madison, MS


Ridgeland High School
Ridgeland, MS




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT