Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Madison Middle School

Public | 6-8 & ungraded | 14 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 14, 2014

My children have just started the new school semester here. I must say I love the block scheduling classes. On Mon, Wed, Friday Block A. On Tuesday, Thursday Block B. I feel that the teachers are truly on top of the job. We are just at a starting point, which is so far so good. I will check back as the year progress. One thing I can honestly say is to get started with your children at any school with organization, home school tutorials, and truly walking with them every step of the way, because with the way schools are set up with state testing etc. You have to start being your child's advocate right away. If they struggle with studies it is indeed a incredible amount of work that you have to put in to it. YOU CANNOT depend on the teachers to do that for you. If your child is falling behind. Take CONTROL and you do something about it. KMG
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2014

i love my school it is the number one school in mississippi and number 3 school in the nation!


Posted March 5, 2011

They claim to be a good school. But not for the kids who have a hard time. They have teachers side with the children who make good grades. The ones that don't have good grades, get called stupid by the teachers. Yes STUPID! They will get your child out before state testing one way or another. The Madison County Schools need a huge over haul. But then it all comes to those state testing and how they look. Even the elementary teachers start with them in elementary school when it comes to that testing they tell them they will fail if they don't do good on them. If you can afford it don't send them here unless they have good grades and then they will be happy to have them
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2011

I go to this school and love it. I used to go to another private school where everyone was either a brat, a jerk, or an outcast and I just didn't fit in. My grades weren't that good either. But I moved to Madison Middle this year and my life is so much better. 99.99% of the students are friendly and fun. The teachers and really nice and helpful, and they set high goals and standards for you. Since I came to Madison Middle, my grades have been increasing greatly-but the tests and schoolwork are very challenging. The academics program is incredible. If anyone is even considering moving to this school, I would definitely advise it!


Posted February 22, 2010

There is no help here for students who are falling behind.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2009

this is the best school ever. i was there from 7th-8th grade and they were the best school years. Ever. the girls are hot. the guys are cool. if anyone fails, it is their fault. all the teachers really care for our future. they care so much that they will give you a parent notice for any minor disruptions. although they are strict,they are also fun. my social studies teacher, Mrs. Crowder, is the best. she was nominated teacher of the year for 7 years. also, everyone encourages you.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 4, 2008

I thought you did not have to put your child in a private school in Madison. But, I have had to change my position. Some children need a smaller environment. This is a large school. The teachers do the best job they can- but some students can be overwhelmed. This is a fantastic school. But, some children will feel lost due to the size. There are kids who are not polite- to say the least. If your child can roll with the punches- this is fine. Sensitive......you might have to go somewhere else. MMS is doing an amazing job with all the children they have.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2008

Well yes the school is great, but is mostly presentation! The kids there most are just hard to get along with! Great food!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 25, 2008

Wonderful school, great teachers who care about the success of the students!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2007

This is an awesome school with great activities!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 21, 2007

Madison Middle School is the Number 1 school in the state for two years in a row as far as growth in test scores. What an awesome place for your children to learn. The teachers, administrators and support stafff actually care about every student there. I have had three kids go through there all of whom were very different. One made straight As the whole way through, one makes Bs and Cs and the other had to repeat a grade. Every one of them have been treated with the same love and care. We are very fortunate here in Madison to have the quality teachers and schools that we have.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2006

As with any school, group or organization, everything that goes on inside a facility is not known to everyone. Although if you re an active and involved parent there is no reason why you should not be aware of what is going on inside your child s life. The teachers and office staff are #1.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2005

Parents don't see or hear about half of what's going on at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

451 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
87%
Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

452 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 63% in 2013.

484 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

484 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

433 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

430 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Writing - Informative Essay

The state average for Writing - Informative Essay was 93% in 2012.

437 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
100%
Scale: % Score 2, 3 or 4

About the tests


Until 2011-2012, terminating in 2012-2013, Mississippi used the Mississippi Writing Assessment Program (MWAP) to test students in grades 4, 7 and 10 in writing. The MWAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above 2 on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

428 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Science Test (MST) to test students in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MST is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

186 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Subject Assessment Testing Program (SATP) to test students in English II, writing, algebra I, biology I and U.S. history at the completion of each course. Students must pass all parts of the SATP in order to graduate from high school. The SATP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 71% 46%
Black 25% 50%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 1%
Hispanic 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 12%N/A71%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1365 Mannsdale Rd
Madison, MS 39110
Phone: (601) 605-4171

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


The Veritas School
Ridgeland, MS






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT