Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Madison Avenue Lower Elementary School

Public | K-2 & ungraded | 521 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 6, 2014

There are a few bad teachers that make the whole school look bad. My child learned more this year about fashion than actual schoolwork. They have a big focus on art but sadly language arts and science are not included in their curriculum. I believe school teacher tenure plays a lot into the poor teachers and this school could be the best in the state if it weren't for that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2013

MAUE is an excellent school, in an excellent district, consistently ranked one of the best in the state.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2013

The school is fine if you have a cookie cutter child. If you have a creative spirit, it will not be nurtured or even appreciated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2011

I have found this to be an unwelcoming place for me and my child. I would not recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2011

This school has been a great disappointment. We moved to Madison for the school system but found out all this consists of is worksheet after worksheet. The children are marched in circles everyday in the pretense of being healthy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

The teachers and principal are wonderful and truly love the chidren. The parents are also very involved and supportive of the school and of the teachers. All of which makes for a fun and nurturing environment for the children to grow and learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 30, 2007

I have three children that have/will attend Madison Avenue Lower and we have been extremely pleased. I am most impressed by the attention to the Arts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2007

I have taught school in three different districts in this area. These are the best kids around and its not just from the teachers.. it really starts at home. Keep doing what you have been doing, MAE!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2007

Best school in the state of Mississippi! Best teachers and staff! Don't waste you money on private schools!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2006

This is a fabulous school. They have wonderful, supportive parents, first rate staff, a wonderful principal, awesome art and music program. I can not say enough about what an overall positive experience we have had at Madison Avenue K-2.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2006

Wonderful school and teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2006

This school has the most awesome pre-k program available in the state of Mississippi. I have met several other parents who have, in fact, moved here from other nearby states for thier child to go to the program. This is 'above and beyond' at its best!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2006

There some woderful teachers at Madison Ave. The parents are very involved as well. Only complaint would be the size of the school and large classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2004

Excellent school...one of the few gems left in the state's public school system.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2004

If you want your kids to say things like; 'I got me some food.' or 'I ain't got no crayons.' Then sign your kids up today. Laungage arts is not a strong point of this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2004

You will not find a better school anywhere! Awesome parents, teachers, administration and the greatest school district! Not a negative thing can be said about this school except that it is growing too fast!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

Oops! We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Public and charter school test scores for most states come from the state Department of Education. The most common reasons we might not have this data are either that not enough students took the test or that the school was recently opened, and its scores have not yet been reported.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 81% 46%
Black 12% 50%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 1%
Two or more races 2% 1%
Hispanic 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 8%N/A71%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1199 Madison Ave
Madison, MS 39110
Phone: (601) 856-2951

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT