Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-2 & Ungraded|Public district
521 students|Madison Co School Dist
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 25 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Madison Avenue Lower Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted December 21, 2015
- a parent
It varies. Some teachers are average and some are excellent. However, all classrooms are functional environments.

Madison Avenue Lower Elementary School 4

Posted December 21, 2015
- a parent
My child completed kindergarten through second grade at MAE. He was well-prepared for third grade.


Madison Avenue Lower Elementary School 5

Posted December 08, 2015
- a parent
My grandson is in kindergarten and LOVES it! Thank you MAE for making this year special for Gray.

Madison Avenue Lower Elementary School 3

Posted May 06, 2014
- a parent
There are a few bad teachers that make the whole school look bad. My child learned more this year about fashion than actual schoolwork. They have a big focus on art but sadly language arts and science are not included in their curriculum. I believe school teacher tenure plays a lot into the poor teachers and this school could be the best in the state if it weren't for that.

Madison Avenue Lower Elementary School 5

Posted September 30, 2013
- a parent
MAUE is an excellent school, in an excellent district, consistently ranked one of the best in the state.


Madison Avenue Lower Elementary School 1

Posted December 07, 2011
- a parent
I have found this to be an unwelcoming place for me and my child. I would not recommend this school to anyone.

Madison Avenue Lower Elementary School 1

Posted September 11, 2011
- a parent
This school has been a great disappointment. We moved to Madison for the school system but found out all this consists of is worksheet after worksheet. The children are marched in circles everyday in the pretense of being healthy.

Madison Avenue Lower Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
The teachers and principal are wonderful and truly love the chidren. The parents are also very involved and supportive of the school and of the teachers. All of which makes for a fun and nurturing environment for the children to grow and learn.


Madison Avenue Lower Elementary School 5

Posted December 30, 2007
- a parent
I have three children that have/will attend Madison Avenue Lower and we have been extremely pleased. I am most impressed by the attention to the Arts.

Madison Avenue Lower Elementary School 5

Posted July 23, 2007
- a parent
I have taught school in three different districts in this area. These are the best kids around and its not just from the teachers.. it really starts at home. Keep doing what you have been doing, MAE!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Madison Avenue Lower Elementary School
1199 Madison Ave, Madison, MS  39110
(601) 856-2951
Last modified Madison Avenue Lower Elementary School is a Public school
Madison Avenue Lower Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. Top