Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Poplar Springs Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 533 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 28, 2013

This school can be a great school if you stay involved as a parent. However, minority students in my opinion do not receive the same level of dedication from teachers unless their parents are upper middle class and/or have a certain status in the community. Darker skinned children tend to be disciplined disproportionately compared to lighter skinned children. The high school in this same district is under a decree from the department of justice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2011

When my family moved to Meridian, we planned on sending our kids to private school--public education system in Mississippi is known as being sub-par. Although I'm aware that test scores across MS are low, this below-average tendency hasn't seemed to touch the staff or students of PSE. The arts-centered curriculum is evident from the moment you step through the doors. The school, as well as its inhabitants, effuse a sense of welcoming warmth. The principal and office staff know every student by name. The staff and administration work together to make the school run efficiently, classes are small, and many programs cater to the wide variety of the children's needs while making sure that every student gets the individual attention he/she deserves. The EXPLORE program provides supplementary challenging activities for students gifted academically or artistically. Parental involvement is thoroughly encouraged and welcomed- whether it's fundraising, PTA, classroom parties, tutoring or just coming up to school to have lunch with their children, there seems to always be some form of parental presence. Great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2010

I love PSE!! My daughter has been here since Kindergarden and is now in 2nd grade. The teachers are wonderful and make learning fun. This school believes in the Arts and the Accelerated Reading program is a wonderful tool. We couldn't be happier here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2009

I love PSE! I have 3 children-all in elementary school right now, and I couldn't be happier with the school. The teachers are wonderful-they keep parents informed and are always very positive about their position and the students. My family has been in 2 other states, in different schools and we are most pleased with Poplar Springs Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2008

We have just moved here from another state. From the first time I stepped foot on pse grounds we were very welcomed and I knew I felt great about my child being here at this school! my child is learning and this has been a very positive outcome! keep up the good work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2008

We just moved to the area and chose PSE for it's test scores, but we were completely disappointed with this school. The teachers and staff have a lot to learn regarding positive discipline.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2008

Excellent school academically, socially and culturally.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2007

We have a child in kindergarten at Poplar Springs. His experience has been outstanding. He has been exposed to all aspects of the curriculum with an emphasis on the arts. The leadership and staff are superb!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 59% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
64%
Math

The state average for Math was 67% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 59% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
49%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 59% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
62%
Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Writing - Informative Essay

The state average for Writing - Informative Essay was 89% in 2012.

58 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
88%
Scale: % Score 2, 3 or 4

About the tests


Until 2011-2012, terminating in 2012-2013, Mississippi used the Mississippi Writing Assessment Program (MWAP) to test students in grades 4, 7 and 10 in writing. The MWAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above 2 on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
49%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Science Test (MST) to test students in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MST is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 50% 46%
Black 45% 50%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 1%
Hispanic 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 43%N/A71%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4101 27th Ave
Meridian, MS 39305
Phone: (601) 484-4450

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Marion Park Complex
Meridian, MS






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT