Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

West Union Attendance Center

Public | K-12 & ungraded | 10 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 4, 2013

I have a child in kindergarten and is doing very well. He loves everything about the school and really enjoys learning. All the teachers and staff are very nice and very good people.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2011

Wonderful school and staff. My grandchildren love it there and doing great in their work.


Posted September 15, 2008

I'm a grandparent and from what I've seen this is a wonderful school. My granddaughter has a wonderful teacher and helper. Thank you Mrs. C.


Posted July 23, 2007

I have one child at WU that will be entering the 8th grade. She has attended WU since kindergarten. We have been very pleased with our school. Yes, it is small but I feel that is the greatest asset. If you want a setting where everyone will know your name and a faculity that still has christian morals then this is an ideal place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2006

I have three children that attend WU. I love the school. I grew up in a city school that over looked alot of children. I feel the children at WU are given a lot of individual time. The music and art programs are first class. The music teacher is awesome, she has instilled a strong sense of confidence in all three of my children. The only negative I have experienced so far is lack of parent/teacher interaction past the 6th grade. When left for the middle grader to inform the parent of anything, the parent is totally in the dark, sometimes until it is to late.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2006

My children attend West Union. the teachers and administrators really go out of thier way to assist the students and parents. Many improvements have been made over the last three years and the school looks better than ever. A positive learning atmosphere is present at West Union.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2005

My daughter attended Kindergarten here 04-05. My previous experiences were with much larger schools, personally and with my older children. I loved the small school atmosphere. There were two Kindergarten classes. They did a lot of extracurricular activities and her first year was very special. We had a good teacher and they always kept the parents informed and involved in what the children were doing. It was a good start for us and she is excited about going to first grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2005

I am a sophomore at WUHS during the 05-06 school year. This school is very wonderful and has a very friendly environment. Although this would not be a good school for a child involved in athletics, the academic program is very beneficial and the teachers are very willing to help any student who needs help. I very much enjoy West Union, and advise this school to anyone who seeks a small, well oriented school. The dress code is strict, and that is a negative, but everything else is wonderful.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 31, 2005

We are currently a Freshmen and a Sophomore at West Union. Everybody at West Union is friendly. Everybody knows everybodys name. We each have a personal relationship with everyone there. The administration is great. We love it there and wouldn't move if we could.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 4, 2005

I have two boys that attend this school.My youngest child has ADHD. The teachers and faculty are super nice and go out of their way to assist you.Parents are very involved in sports and activities.My children love it here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2005

I attended this school from kindergarten through eighth grade, and I never liked it. It's not a horrible school or anything, it just doesn't suit my tastes. It's really small, and almost 100% white. Extracurricular activities are scarce, and school spirit is unbelievably poor. There are definitely 'cliques' at this school. And discrimination against those not in a clique. It's a great school for under-achievers.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 59% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
69%
Math

The state average for Math was 67% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 59% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
51%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 59% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
69%
Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 63% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
50%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
48%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
45%
Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Writing - Informative Essay

The state average for Writing - Informative Essay was 89% in 2012.

41 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
91%
Scale: % Score 2, 3 or 4

About the tests


Until 2011-2012, terminating in 2012-2013, Mississippi used the Mississippi Writing Assessment Program (MWAP) to test students in grades 4, 7 and 10 in writing. The MWAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above 2 on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Writing - Informative Essay

The state average for Writing - Informative Essay was 93% in 2012.

42 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%
Scale: % Score 2, 3 or 4

About the tests


Until 2011-2012, terminating in 2012-2013, Mississippi used the Mississippi Writing Assessment Program (MWAP) to test students in grades 4, 7 and 10 in writing. The MWAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above 2 on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Writing - Informative Essay

The state average for Writing - Informative Essay was 97% in 2012.

31 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
97%
Scale: % Score 2, 3 or 4

About the tests


Until 2011-2012, terminating in 2012-2013, Mississippi used the Mississippi Writing Assessment Program (MWAP) to test students in grades 4, 7 and 10 in writing. The MWAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above 2 on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Science Test (MST) to test students in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MST is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Science Test (MST) to test students in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MST is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Subject Assessment Testing Program (SATP) to test students in English II, writing, algebra I, biology I and U.S. history at the completion of each course. Students must pass all parts of the SATP in order to graduate from high school. The SATP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 63% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
98%
English II

The state average for English II was 59% in 2013.

37 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
79%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 62% in 2013.

29 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Subject Assessment Testing Program (SATP) to test students in English II, writing, algebra I, biology I and U.S. history at the completion of each course. Students must pass all parts of the SATP in order to graduate from high school. The SATP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 98% 46%
Hispanic 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Black 0% 50%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 57%N/A71%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1610 St Hwy 30 West
Myrtle, MS 38650
Phone: (662) 534-4982

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT