Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

J Z George High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 297 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 28, 2011

I just want to say that our school needs to get more involved with the See you at the pole! Olivia, my niece was the only one that showed up this morning! I am Soooo Proud of her. But what does that say about our school. If you want to see a change in the school to the better, do more for God. Pray. Pray. Pray.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2008

This school is good because it has so many choices for vocational classes. The principal was charismatic and friendly, although rumor has it that J.Z. George has a new female principal this year. There is an excellent gifted program, too, for students of superior intellect. (There are several at J.Z. George.)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2008

Well, J.Z. George was a pretty good school when I attended. I think that they should keep up the good work. Especially, when they built a new gym.


Posted August 9, 2007

I graduated from George in 2003. Since I have left the school has grown. Everything that we wanted while we were there is happening. There is an atmosphere of family with all the staff, from security to cooks in the kitchen. George gave me the support I needed to grow. With the new principal, James Gant, this school is headed to a bright future. And I believe he will bring many needed programs to the school and area.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 30, 2006

J.Z. George was a great school. It taught me the importance of friendship and understanding differences in people. There could be a boost in the variety of extra-activities avaliable for students. Overall I think more schools should be like George!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 28, 2005

MY over all look at this school is not good my kids have been going to george since 2002 it has steady went down teachers are good it is the.The head leadership isn,t all that.I am sorry to say they wont be back.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2004

Jz george is an awesome learning facility that makes all the students feel at 'home' in Carrollton, out in the country. I graduated there in 2003 and am not at ole miss. The students I graduated with are still good friends of mine. I will never forget the teachers and staff that helped me get where I am today. Besides the need for activities, it is a great school and would do it all over again.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 5, 2004

J. Z. George is a very nice school. But it just has a lot of misunderstood students. Things that the school needs to become a good school like better books, a gym, a band, and better teachers. It just doesn't have. It is not a bad school to attend but certainly not the best. But it has a great princpal, Dr. Paul Miller.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 10, 2004

Last two years George has become a much better school. sports and bands need a improvments but it will come. It all so need a booster club for sports.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Writing - Informative Essay

The state average for Writing - Informative Essay was 97% in 2012.

68 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
100%
Scale: % Score 2, 3 or 4

About the tests


Until 2011-2012, terminating in 2012-2013, Mississippi used the Mississippi Writing Assessment Program (MWAP) to test students in grades 4, 7 and 10 in writing. The MWAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above 2 on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 63% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
n/a
English II

The state average for English II was 59% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 62% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Subject Assessment Testing Program (SATP) to test students in English II, writing, algebra I, biology I and U.S. history at the completion of each course. Students must pass all parts of the SATP in order to graduate from high school. The SATP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 71% 50%
White 26% 46%
Hispanic 2% 3%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 86%N/A71%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

900 George St
North Carrollton, MS 38947
Phone: (662) 237-4701

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Carroll Academy
Carrollton, MS







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT