Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Alphonsus School

Private | PK-6 | 175 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Ocean Springs

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $127,600. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $900.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

25 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 3, 2013

Great School! I have 2 children at St. Alphonsus and would recommend this school to anyone who is looking for a private school. Enjoy the ability to see my children to class and the family atmosphere. My children have loved all their teachers and I have as well. LOTS of fun events throughout the year! I believe you can make an appointment and check it out for yourself!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2013

I can't say enough about the wonderful experience we have had at St. Alphonsus! When I send my child to school each day, I have the greatest sense of comfort knowing he is surrounded by faculty and staff who are passionate about providing a superior education and who are also teaching strong Christian morals in everything they do. My child amazes me everyday with his sweet spirit and knowledge of his faith. Parent involvement at St. Alphonsus is awesome. It truly feels like a family! This year there have been incredible fund raising events where the students and families have come together to make unforgettable memories! If you are considering this school, please go spend some time there. I feel so blessed to be part of the St. Alphonsus family!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2013

If you want your child to develop and learn in an academically advanced school, this is the one you want. It has a warm and familiar feeling where parents are involved and teachers know and love your child. This is the school environment that every child should have growing up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2012

LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS SCHOOL! Has gone through some fantastic changes and is continuing to push the envelope with its academic curriculum. My 3 children usually fight me to stay for their aftercare program. The school is an older building but is very clean and has that nostalgic feel! Just want to put on my letterman sweater! Parent involvement is felt at every event... and I love to be able to enter the school and eat lunch with them whenever I want! Have had really great experiences with all their teachers! It really is the cutest school on the coast!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2011

After reading your review a couple of times, I'm still not sure I understand, but I assume based on the "2 stars", it's a negative review. My question to you is, why are you so bitter??? I've had 3 kids go to St. Al's, with one still there, and it's wonderful! People who left last year are coming back, and new students are enrolling. Most impressive, however, is how full the younger classes are. One last thing, you're husband must be a Saint... God bless him....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2011

Do not enroll your child here is you are on Active Duty and just transferred to South Mississippi. The school is much to be desired. The school to check on is NATIVITY in Biloxi. The ST. ALS offers very little in advance educations, physical activity, or the arts. The principal will not take any input and the School Board advisory does not listen to the parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2011

I can not reccomend this school or Pre-K to any parents or future parents. The school has a few excellent teachers but the administration is unsatisfactory at best. The school has not won any Academic or School Award in almost 10 yrs. The school cost continues to go up with not improvements to the ACADEMICS, PHYSICAL FITNESS, ARTS, SCIENCE or other basic education. It continues to develop little clicks where if you are not a part your child will and can suffer in his education
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2010

This is truly a cry for help when someone has to put down another school to try to save what is obviously not going to be tollarated by the community. I'm sure the new teacheers are great, but they will in no way compare to the experience, strong catholic faith and wonderful committment not only to the school, but the church as well. Who teaches religion for all the non-catholic teachers? Isn't this part of why we send our children to catholic SCHOOLS? Was this ever a priority to the principal?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2010

Changes were long overdue and although unpopular, they were needed. The remaining teachers are caring professionals who treat ALL children with RESPECT and are WILLING and ABLE to TEACH ALL children, regardless of their ability. The new teachers exhibit the same traits and have warm, friendly temperaments that children and parents are sure to like. This will make the classroom more engaging for students with nontraditional learning styles. Instead of sitting quietly in a desk completing worksheets, children are encouraged to actively participate in their lesson. The teachers and librarian are certified (some highly certified) and have a strong desire to learn and enhance their teaching skills. This is not a private school; it is a CATHOLIC school, rich in its heritage and support. The tuition and fees are high, but well worth the sacrifice. Our decision will be reaffirmed when all my children receive their diploma from the Bishop.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2010

In the Spring of 2010, parents paid a $325 registration fee per child, assuming things would not change all that much. However, the first year principal elected not to renew the contracts for over half of the teaching staff in late June (much too late for these teachers to find gainful employment elsewhere). Eight teachers whose contracts were not renewed had invested their lives into the school, working there for over 20 years. No evaluations were done on these experienced teachers nor explanations given of why their contracts were not renewed. Needless to say, parents became enraged with this decision and many of them forewent the registration fee when they realized they no longer wanted to be affiliated with St. Alphonsus. Enrollment appears to have declined rapidly for St. Alphonsus as they didn t expect so many families to leave after the decision. Do not recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2010

The reason so many (about a third to one half of the students) are leaving is that the school that ONCE produced those top graduates no longer exists. The TEACHERS that made those well prepared students year after year were dismissed without explanation. That action turned many lives upside down; we are choosing a more stable, caring and Christian environment for our children. Too much negativity at St. Al's--sad that it can all stem from one poorly chosen leader.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2010

If you are active duty military relocating to Ocean Springs and looking for the right full-time preschool for your child, let me recommend Sacred Heart over St. Alphonsus. When comparing apples to apples (the two school are similar enough both are Catholic private schools), you will find tuition is more affordable at Sacred Heart and the facilities are fantastic! Sacred Heart was recently completely renovated after hurricane Katrina only the outer facade is original. I was happy with St. Alphonsus until recently. While my children have attended PreK3 and PreK4 for three consecutive years at St. Alphonsus, I transferred them to Sacred Heart for the 2010 academic year. St. Alphonsus has never been the same since 2009 with the hiring of a new principal. You'll find many mixed reviews on this school because of the radical changes the school is currently undergoing. Experienced teachers with tenure are replaced easily there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2010

St. Alphonsus remains a great Catholic School. Many rumores and incorrect information circulate the media, web and this site, but eighty percent of the children continue their Christian education with St. Alphonsus. Walk the halls and see the smiling faces, and you will make own decision. The school is about the children, not the parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2010

It is no longer a great school. The new principal fired most of the good teachers: 1. Ms. Sentel who had never had a bad evaluation in about 22 years. Her academic scores for her students were fantastic. Yet, she got fired anyway. 2. Ms. Atwater. Her academic scores were also fantastic. Yet, she got fired. 3. Ms. King quit due to the new principal and had been there 28 years. 4. Ms. Rebecca Young, the librarian who was also great. I could go on but you should get the point by now. This principal is out of control and a very poor manager. She never even gave the teachers a written evaluation despite the fact that this is required by the teacher handbook. I think the reason she didn't give them one is she knew these were excellent teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2010

I can no longer recommend St. Alphonsus as a good school. The principal that was hired a year ago apparently does not know how to work with her faculty. She inherited an excellent faculty and the first private school in Mississippi to be awarded Blue Ribbon status in the NCLB Act. Unfortunately, if anyone disagreed with this principal, his or her contract was not renewed - even when the teacher was right. This woman's "my way or the highway" approach, dismissing anyone for being courageous enough to speak up, is not conducive to promoting the happy atmosphere that once existed at the school.


Posted April 14, 2010

Great and strong academic standards, great teachers. And, it adheres to the truths of the Catholic Church
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2009

We have had a wonderful experience at St. Al's. It feels like a close knit family. My little girl prays daily and talks openly about God. She is getting a great education. I could not be happier and I am a very picky Mom!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2007

This is an excellent school if you wish your child to receive a religious education. It is welcoming to all denominations. Receiving the award for 'No child left behind' is an indication of its academic excellence. When your child leaves 6th grade, he/she will not only be prepared for but ahead of most 7th Grade curricula on the Coast. The staff are most caring, the library is by far the best on the Coast, it has an excellent Computer Lab and it could not have a more welcoming environment. My son went here, both my daughters will also. I have no hesitation in recommending this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2007

All-in-all it is like any other school. However, if you are not part of the 'click', don't expect more than an average experience. Teachers are good&bad but the staff and the school as a whole have many inconsistencies in discipline (depending on the child involved and teacher's mood) and in communication. Some teachers have been great, but my child's teacher changes the 'routine' every other week and takes points away for the children's conduct averages if they don't consistently follow class processes. Wonderful life lesson for my child(do as I say, not as I do). Some of these children have been through a lot (Hurricane Katrina). When it comes to getting free meals (and more money for the school) they seem to care a lot. When it comes to emotional implications, not so much. If you get one of the good teachers, you'll be wonderful. If not, have fun. :-/
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2006

Both my children have attended St. Alphonsus over the past three years. The environment is small and close nit. The reading program is fair and needs to be revised it has taken the love of reading away from my 9 1/2 year old. Over all the edcuation is good for the area. The school needs a little bit of T.L.C. and up keep. The playground is a mess, along with the track area. We have had great teachers and one not so great, but you get that everywhere. I love the small class size and parent envolement! There is no better place to edcuate your children on the Coast for a Catholic education. If your looking for private school in this area don't pass this one up.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 91% 46%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 1%
Hispanic 3% 3%
Two or more races 3% 1%
Black 1% 50%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Biloxi
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

504 Jackson Avenue
Ocean Springs, MS 39564
Phone: (228) 875-5329

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Oak Park Elementary School
Ocean Springs, MS







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT