Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

9-12 & Ungraded|Public district
1,161 students|Jackson Co School Dist
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
29 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 40 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St Martin High School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted June 19, 2016
- a community member
Mrs. Bell the band teacher is a solid educator. She takes care of business and the kids respect her for it.

St Martin High School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted June 19, 2016
- a community member
This is a mixed bag. Some teachers are very good but others try too hard to be liked by the students. There is a lack of respect between some students and teachers that is allowed to propagate.


St Martin High School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted June 19, 2016
- a community member
Unless you are in Honors classes, homework is a joke that can be accomplished during school or there simply isn't any.

St Martin High School
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted June 19, 2016
- a community member
From what I have seen, Honors and AP classes are the only ones that offer the kids a challenge.

St Martin High School 3

Posted June 19, 2016
- a community member
The administrators at St. Martin High School and long time residents like to think that the school is on par with Ocean Springs High School... the simple fact is that it is not. The school is not terrible but new people to the area can do better. Military families moving to the area would be best served living in Ocean Springs School District regardless of what realtors tell you.


St Martin High School 1

Posted July 31, 2014
- a community member
I have been attending St Martin for 11 years and as I continue to attend this school, I find another reason to loathe it. The uniform situation may not seem like a big issue; however, the strict reinforcement of the dress code has caused me to spend more money than needed to appease St. Martin. This school also shows double standards to those who are popular or academically achieving. Although the test scores are high at this school, St Martin doesn't care about helping students who may have difficult learning; they ONLY care about test scores. The majority of the teachers talk down to the students and show them very little respect. My experience with the school has made me stressed out beyond belief and I hope that this school makes serious changes in the future.

St Martin High School 5

Posted September 12, 2013
- a parent
I don't understand why people are so 'mad' or 'upset' about uniforms! YOU PARENTS ARE A JOKE! SERIOUSLY???? IS A GOOD Thing the school has uniforms, that way NO ONE from OUTSIDE can just walk in as if they are one of them! I wish ALL SCHOOLS DO ENFORCE UNIFORMS!!!

St Martin High School 1

Posted August 24, 2011
- a parent
The St. Martin H.S. is a great dissappointment! The standards are extremely low and if a child wants to pass all he/she has to do is attend class and pay attention and maybe a little effort. During the year 2010-2011, my student required tutoring and most of the time no teachers were available for either of the 2 days of tutoring a week, they always have somewhere to go. My child told me that the teachers only appear to be teaching when a principal walks down the hallway, and she thought that the teachers are only interested in getting paid...her words..."Mom, the teachers don't really care about us." There is a lack of "classroom control", the students walk all over the teachers most of the time and make fun of them, so maybe that's why the teachers don't care. To have a substitute teacher come in and not know how to do the work is pitiful. This school needs better discipline (they have corporal punishment but don't use it), they need teachers that CARE and they need to raise the standard for passing to a 70%. That makes the student have to apply him/herself inorder to graduate. This school needs some help!


St Martin High School 5

Posted June 21, 2010
- a teacher
As an experienced teacher new to the St. Martin system, I can say I am very lucky to work there. Mississippi's state tests are among the most difficult in the nation, and the St. Martin teachers are able to produce successful, intelligent, well-rounded students who also do well on the state tests. They understand that No Child Left Behind is quite flawed on a number of levels, so instead of just teaching the tests like the neighboring city districts do, they teach the child. I worked in the neighboring systems on some short term assignments before I accepted the St. Martin position and am very glad I did. The staff sees the big picture and is always willing to discuss a problem rationally. I must say, their old-school ways when dealing with idiots are nice as well: they show them the door.

St Martin High School 1

Posted March 09, 2010
- a parent
This school uses an automated system that never has a live person pick up. In a crisis there is no way to get through. Most of the times it just rings and rings until it disconnects you.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Martin High School
10800 Yellowjacket Blvd, Ocean Springs, MS  39564
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 40 reviews. (228) 875-8418
Last modified St Martin High School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top