Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Magnolia Park Elementary School

Public | K-4 & ungraded | 3 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

29 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 13, 2006

I see no compassion only politics and power. I feel they only want 'passive' children there and do not want any children that may be 'challenging'.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2006

I have to say that this school has continued to decline. My daughter has been there for four years. She has had many problems, but if it wasn't for Dr. Callahan, God Bless her, my daughter would have been left behind long ago. And it is because the teachers do not care enough about the children! It is sad really.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 27, 2005

Have you heard of the saying, 'You don't know what you've got til it's gone'? Well, that is what my imput is. I am displaced in Cumberland, Md. No Thanks to good ole Katrina. I have had two children complete k-4 at Magnolia Park and my third child was in her second year there! We Miss and Love Magnolia Park Tremedously! Move to another State and then you will find out that Magnolia is all that and more! Keep it up MP and hopefully with God's will my youngest will be back!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2005

My children are begining thier 3rd year at MP. Overall I have been pleased w/ the teaching staff. I have been highly disappointed with the administration and principle. MP seems to have a cold feeling to it. It sometimes seems that parent involvement is discouraged. While I would like my childrens school to be somewhat professional, the harsh, business atmosphere of MP is not what I expect from an elementary school. While the school does well academically, I am confident it is inspite of the principle not because of her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2004

This is a great school, one of the best in Mississippi. There tends to be some arrogance that comes along with this. It is hard to take part in a lot of what goes on at that school, unless you're fund raising. No siblings are allowed on field trips and at some in school activities. I've heard/seen a lot of condescending talk from office personnel to the children. I attended this school 25 years ago and my daughter attends now (past 3 years). Education wise, they use Saxon Phonics and Saxon Math and those seem to work wonders, but can easily lose a child as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2004

I am saddened by the turn this school has taken. It used to be very child friendly and welcoming to the family. The parents used to feel welcomed to come and help out in the school. In the past two years it has spiraled down. There is a lot of politics in this school. If I were to do it all over again I would have chosen another school in the district. I know the kids really miss Dr. Wade and so do the parents that knew her! I can only pray that hearts are softened in this school and the administration looks at what is important here, the children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2004

It is a wonderful school. They are very involved with the students and the parents.You are always informed of all activites. If you are moving to Mississippi I highly suggest you consider Ocean Springs. We have moved away, I must say if I had to compare the schools, Magnolia Park overall is a better school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2004

This is probably one of the finest elementary schools in all of Southern Mississipi. With its awards and outstanding achievements it's no one's guess why if your thinking Ocean Springs, you're also thinking about a bright future for your children. I'd give this school a nine out of five if I could.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 19, 2003

Magnolia Park is the type of elementary schools an involved parent dreams about for their child! It's atmosphere motivates learning and pride in community. We need more schools like Magnolia Park and Mrs. Lewis, its principal!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 59% in 2013.

147 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
54%
Math

The state average for Math was 67% in 2013.

147 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
68%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Writing - Informative Essay

The state average for Writing - Informative Essay was 89% in 2012.

148 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
90%
Scale: % Score 2, 3 or 4

About the tests


Until 2011-2012, terminating in 2012-2013, Mississippi used the Mississippi Writing Assessment Program (MWAP) to test students in grades 4, 7 and 10 in writing. The MWAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above 2 on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 46%
Black 14% 50%
Hispanic 4% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 42%N/A71%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3500 Government St
Ocean Springs, MS 39564
Phone: (228) 875-4263

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Grace Baptist Academy
Ocean Springs, MS



Oak Park Elementary School
Ocean Springs, MS



St Alphonsus School
Ocean Springs, MS



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT