Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-4 & Ungraded|Public district
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
29 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 35 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Magnolia Park Elementary School 3

Posted July 20, 2016
- a community member
This is a good school for the average child but not so much for special needs children.

Magnolia Park Elementary School 5

Posted October 08, 2014
- a parent
Magnolia Park is a great learning environment for students. The teachers and staff are caring and nurturing, but at the same time set high standards for their students. Parents are welcomed and encouraged to get involved in school activities and the PTO. My children have been to 2 other elementary schools in different states and I can honestly say that we have felt the most welcomed and had the best experience here at Magnolia Park. I would highly recommend this school to anyone coming to this area.


Magnolia Park Elementary School 2

Posted September 22, 2014
- a parent
My child has been at Magnolia Park for the past three years. Until today, I had enjoyed my child attending there but not anymore. The administration is more worried about meeting the required goals than the student. Especially when it comes to AR Reading goals. The students are expected to meet their goals, read only on their reading level and never check back in the book to make sure the question they are answering is correct. What happened to reading for enjoyment.

Magnolia Park Elementary School 1

Posted June 23, 2014
- a parent
I Have never reviewed a school before, but after this school I just had to. When you walk into this school it is cold. Maybe one or two teachers will greet you but for the most part teachers will not even look at you let alone say good morning or smile. At the drive up and drop off area my child was almost hit by a car one of the male teachers was waving on whilst looking directly at my child. Later on they put cones up so the children would not get clipped by cars, but I didn't feel my child was safe with these teachers if they would allow my child to get hit by a car! At the beginning of the school year I was informed that the school had to meet government standards, and If my child did not meet those standards my child could no longer attend that school, however the teacher and assistant of my child's class had very little patience for the children and routinely yelled orders at the children and called that teaching. In the end My child knew nothing by February so I chose to withdraw my child and go somewhere else. This school is an embarrassment.

Magnolia Park Elementary School 2

Posted December 19, 2012
- a parent
One of the worst schools my daughter has attended. The reading program is horrible. Other things about the school I like, but the reading program is very bad. We are military and have experienced a lot of schools, as such, this school fails in my view compares to others I have experienced.


Magnolia Park Elementary School 4

Posted October 30, 2012
- a parent
"Is this Kindergarten or The Hunger Games?"-Modern Family. We are a military family & have experienced a wide range of school districts. This school has the bar set high which I was happy about. HOWEVER my child was just starting kindergarten & I was informed he would not make it to 1st grade. Mind you my child had attended PreK & knows the basics: his name, numbers, letters & how & what a book look likes (I say that bc his teacher was surprised he knew which way to open it). I have another child in the school district who has adjusted fine. Yes this is a blue ribbon school & you have to work hard to maintain it but at what cost? It is just kindergarten y'all.

Magnolia Park Elementary School 5

Posted February 07, 2012
- a parent
My child attended Magnolia Elementary. He loved all his teachers - They teachers were outstanding - They could be even more outstanding if the federal gov't would get out of their way.

Magnolia Park Elementary School 5

Posted July 17, 2011
- a community member
I went to Magnolia Park from 2nd to 4th grade. It was so much fun, and I learned a lot. The teachers were caring, and I still, to this day, have my teachers tell me hi whenever I see them. (i'm an upcoming Junior in high school). I wouldn't trade my experience for anything.


Magnolia Park Elementary School 4

Posted August 02, 2010
- a parent
My grandson was in Ms A's kindergarten class last yr - she has the patience of a saint! I was dismayed that there was so much push for school subject that he had little time to rest and came home exhausted (I remember taking a nap in kindergarten!) I asked when I saw the schedule and was informed that because of the requirements the teachers has to meet there was no time for organized rest for the children other than a few moments here and there. He seemed to learn a lot - will have to see how much he retained!

Magnolia Park Elementary School 5

Posted July 28, 2010
- a parent
Wonderful school! Best teachers ever! All 3 of my kids have gone here. My little girl will in two years and I am very excited. I love everyone at Magnoila Park. If you are looking to buy a house in this area make sure it's in the Magnolia Park school district, it's like paying 5000 a yr. to send your kids to a private school but it's free! Five stars!!

Nearby schools

Magnolia Park Elementary School
3500 Government St, Ocean Springs, MS  39564
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 35 reviews. (228) 875-4263
Last modified Magnolia Park Elementary School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top