Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lewisburg Elementary School

Public | 3-5 & ungraded | 12 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 17, 2013

lewisburg elementary, middle and high. I have three children, two have graduated from lewisburg and one is a junior this year. I could literally cry knowing i only have 2 more yrs to say i am a part of this school. Its not just a school, its a family. The teachers love their job and they are so kind to the children. The BEST school in desoto county or anywhere. :) I can not think of one bad thing to say about this school. Its clean and you can literally feel the energy of the staff. The teachers and the entire staff are positive and good to the kids. Its so nice when you walk in the school and teachers and the whole staff call your child by their name with a smile.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2012

This is the greatest school as Anthony,Kenya,&Miracle Moody in the world we hated to leave such wonderful teachers and the principal is more than a principal she and angel ,If yoy ever wanna know what real angels are .Just drive up sometimes and talk to the staff.Arlington Tx love you guys.Susanna Moody
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2011

I will be moving there tthis summer. From reading reviews appears to be a great school. This is my biddest concern.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2011

The Lewisburg schools are awesome!! Great teachers and staff! I, also, love the fact that all 4 schools are located on one campus!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2010

We moved here 3 years ago from Texas. We love this schools. We have a son in 3rd and one in 5th. They have loved everyo teacher every year. No problems in any area. One son is in speech and he loves it. The lunch es are great , the parent involvement is fantastic. The principals are caring and just. My boys are quite kids and shy, but they have many friends and there has never been any problems with anything in the school in the 3 years my boys have attended. Love it!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2010

From the wonderful administrators to the highly skilled and dedicated teachers. This is a truly awesome institution for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2009

My wife and I have been extremely pleased with this school. Our son just finished first grade and when he began he was struggling with his reading, by the end of the year he was reading at a 3rd grade level and now is asking every day this summer to go to the Library! The facilities are first class, and the teachers and support staff have always been very responsive and helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2009

My son attends this school. While Mississippi has been a big adjustment for our family. The team at Lewisburg School has been nothing short of amazing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2009

I have 2 kids in this school. I love the principal, teachers and staff. They really care about the children and they get high test scores
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 31, 2008

I have 2 granddaughters in this school and have been amazed at how fast they learn. My 5 year old is reading and my 7 year old is reading on a 6th grade level. I love the caring and wonderful staff.


Posted May 27, 2008

I have nothing but praises for the school! My son just completed Kindergarten. His teacher and the assistant were awesome! He has learned so much this year. We look forward to seeing what the future holds (we have a daughter in the Middle School and have nothing but praises for that school as well!) We definately have the best school in the county!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2008

My child has attended Lewisburg since the first year it was built. I have absolutely no complaints about this school. I could brag on the teachers, principals and students for hours. Shout out to the educators to keep up the great work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2008

This is our second year at Lewisburg and we are very happy with the education our daughter is receiving. The principals are very supportive and open to parent involvement. The PTO is very strong with lots of parent volunteers. We have had two great teachers, with great assistants, both years. I do wish the classroom sizes were smaller but I know state funding has a lot to do with that, so I write my state representatives. I can't say enough great things about this school--we love Lewisburg Elementary!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 59% in 2013.

165 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
73%
Math

The state average for Math was 67% in 2013.

165 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 59% in 2013.

194 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

194 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 59% in 2013.

196 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

196 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Writing - Informative Essay

The state average for Writing - Informative Essay was 89% in 2012.

171 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
93%
Scale: % Score 2, 3 or 4

About the tests


Until 2011-2012, terminating in 2012-2013, Mississippi used the Mississippi Writing Assessment Program (MWAP) to test students in grades 4, 7 and 10 in writing. The MWAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above 2 on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

198 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Science Test (MST) to test students in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MST is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Subject Assessment Testing Program (SATP) to test students in English II, writing, algebra I, biology I and U.S. history at the completion of each course. Students must pass all parts of the SATP in order to graduate from high school. The SATP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
English II

The state average for English II was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 62% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Subject Assessment Testing Program (SATP) to test students in English II, writing, algebra I, biology I and U.S. history at the completion of each course. Students must pass all parts of the SATP in order to graduate from high school. The SATP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 88% 46%
Black 9% 50%
Hispanic 2% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 38%N/A71%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1717 Craft Rd
Olive Branch, MS 38654
Phone: (662) 895-8750

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Lewisburg Primary School
Olive Branch, MS





Desoto County Academy
Olive Branch, MS



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT