Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Olive Branch High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 38 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 5, 2014

Most teachers utilize "best teaching practices" on a regular basis which helps support all students teaching to as many learning styles in one lesson as possible. The teachers that I work with on a daily basis seem to understand that persons with exceptional needs learn differently. They attempt to vary instruction and use prompting and questioning to ensure that students understand what is being presented.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 17, 2012

There are very few good teachers at this school. The new teachers are clueless and the administration is in denial about their lack of teaching ability. Administration was told to hire first year teachers because it saves the district money. My daughter has an English teacher who does not speak correct English! She gives a bunch of easy grades but when it comes to the practice test for the "state test." hardly any of them pass it. The teacher does not know how to teach what is on it. When you try to discuss this with administration they just tell you what supposed qualifications the teacher has and let you know there is nothing you can do about it. If you can afford a private school, send your child there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2010

Why do we need a principle or an assistant principle? The teachers make the decisions in this school. This school does not like parent involvement except where the almighty dollar comes in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2010

Olive Branch High is a great high school to attend. I love there teachers and Mr B. is awesome. You couldnt ask for a better school too attend if you ask me. I feel 100% safe and I learn something new everyday. Also, to the parent who judges all the teachers and acts like they are in all the classes, really! You cant judge something if you've never been in it shoes.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 18, 2009

Graduated from Olive Branch High School....wonderful school, teachers and staff. Many good memories!


Posted September 18, 2009

The Olive Branch school district is the perfect blend of cirriculum and relationships. Everyone there is so concerned about the education of the students as well as the importance of the 'Experience'.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

I loved this school when I went there and now my son is going there and they still have the same wonderful values. The care for thier students and they make sure all of their students get the education they deserve.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2009

I am a parent of three boys who have graduated from Olive Branch High School. I totally disagree with the parent who says the school does not prepare students for a four year university. One of my boys was a nationa merit scholar and scored a 35 on his ACT, as well as being a finalist in the United States Presidential Scholars Program, another was offered full ride scholarships to GA Tech, and several other colleges, my youngest son was offered scholarship to several schools around the state. Olive Branch High School is a good school, with good teachers. None of that happens unless you have great schools and high levels of parent involvement
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2009

As being a student of Olive Branch High School, I am gladly to be part of this program; in every aspect, the school provides many opportunities to the students academically and disciplinary. I am also part of the band, I play trumpet, in which, it is an outstanding program that offers students a high level of maturity and discipline.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 9, 2008

I have a senior next year at OBHS. The only reason she is at this school is because of security and safety. The academic program stinks. They do not offer classes or have the teaching staff to prepare a student for a 4 year college program. Teaching and counseling staff prepare these students for a 2 year junior college and that's pretty much it. If you are an average student, please go somewhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2008

Im a student at Olive Branch High. I will be a sophomore this upcoming year. I am also a varsity cheerleader. This past year as a freshman I had a chance to be on several different clubs. Olive Branch high is a wonderful school and it brings learning and fun together in a wonderful way. The teachers are very understanding of personal problems and are easy to communicate with.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 11, 2008

i think that olive branch isnt a good school to start with and is mostly aimed at pleasing the whites.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 28, 2007

I have 3 boys in Olive Branch Schools 1 that is in OBHS, he is not in sports, or other extracuricular activities and he is still doing very well. When we moved here from Memphis City Schools 2 of them were very behind (the 3rd was not in school yet) and had to attend classes that gave them extra help, we thought that they would have to would have to graduate with a work diploma instead of a regular diploma but he has improved so much that he will graduate with a regular diploma and will be able to attend any college of his choice. Thanks OBHS and OBMS you have my praises. PS. My 3rd grader does excellent!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2006

I am a student at Olive Branch High School and I couldn't be happier anywhere else. The majority of the teachers truly care about their students, as well as their grades. The administration is constantly improving and growing larger, which by parental standards, I assume, is good. Athletic, academic, and extra-curricular programs are plentiful and timeworthy. I feel like I am honestly getting the best high school education available to me. Although recently the student body and faculty count has varied this year, due to the school being overly populated, (new schools have been built causing many students and teachers to transfer) it has managed to still be one of the best schools in Desoto county. There are a few programs that aren't offered, but all of the major/important classes are. Overall, OBHS is a wonderful school to enroll your student in. Heck, even the cafeteria food is OK.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 28, 2006

This school is a quagmire of teachers who play favorites and do not give objective or fair grades. The classroom lectures consist of 15 minutes of info and the rest of the class period is spent in freetime. Favoritism is played in discipline, honors, and recognitions by the school. It is NOT a College Prep school, but fully focused on Vo-tech. Most honors go to students who parents teach at the same school (OBHS). Academic programs fall behind Sports and Music programs. The school administration and the faculty do NOT want parental involvement of any kind in the school. Since Dr.Garret's transfer, the school has declined along with discipline, academic learning, and college prep. The school is overcrowded which adds to the turmoil. Most decent teachers have transferred to another local school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2005

Olive Branch High is perhaps the best school I've ever attended. I've been to several schools because of my father's job requiring him to travel. However, about eight years ago we settled into Olive Branch. Since then I've attended their schools. I am a proud member in both the Band and two of the Choirs. I coudln't be happier at this school. The staff has an extensive knowlege in the areas they teach. Also, the pricipals, as well as the teachers and counselors are always available to speak to when you have a problem. Olive Branch is definitely a remarkable school and I recommend it highly to the new-comers of DeSoto County, more specifically Olive Branch.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 31, 2005

OBHS is a horrible place and the only people who excel are the students children in all the elite club and sports (Deca,Cheerleading etc.)are also the teachers kids what a coincedence i think not. -a current student- psif your moving here home school your children.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 13, 2004

My child has just started high school but has been in Olive Branch Schools for 3yrs. I feel the school has great leadership and is doing a great job educating our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2004

OBHS is a great school. The teachers really care about the students and kids get a good education. There is alot to choose from club and sports wise. The school is very decent and the students are overall good kids. There is little trouble there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 1, 2004

Olive Branch high is a wonderful school and I would recommend any student to attend this school. I graduated from this school and I do it all ove again if I could. The teachers are wonderful, the atmosphere is safe, the pricipals are great with the students and staff,and its a beautiful school phycically overall. I love Olive Branch High and I am proud to say that I graduated from there.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Writing - Informative Essay

The state average for Writing - Informative Essay was 97% in 2012.

279 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
99%
Scale: % Score 2, 3 or 4

About the tests


Until 2011-2012, terminating in 2012-2013, Mississippi used the Mississippi Writing Assessment Program (MWAP) to test students in grades 4, 7 and 10 in writing. The MWAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above 2 on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

262 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
83%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 63% in 2013.

269 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
92%
English II

The state average for English II was 59% in 2013.

280 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
77%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 62% in 2013.

262 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Subject Assessment Testing Program (SATP) to test students in English II, writing, algebra I, biology I and U.S. history at the completion of each course. Students must pass all parts of the SATP in order to graduate from high school. The SATP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 57% 46%
Black 35% 50%
Hispanic 7% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 31%N/A71%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9366 East Sandidge Rd
Olive Branch, MS 38654
Phone: (662) 893-3344

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Desoto County Academy
Olive Branch, MS


Park Academy School
Olive Branch, MS


Center Hill High School
Olive Branch, MS


Lewisburg High School
Olive Branch, MS




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT