Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Olive Branch Intermediate School

Public | 4-5 & ungraded | 564 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 18, 2014

Our son is in his second year at OBIS. We have encountered great and caring teachers and staff during this time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2013

My son hated this school. His teacher was very mean and he started to hate reading due to the rigid requirements that they get grades for reading AR books. I thought AR was supposed to be a motivational reading program, not a punishment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2011

I think this is a GREAT school with dedicated and caring teachers and administrators. The students are encouraged in so many ways to always do their best. The teachers promote independence and growth to help prepare the students for Middle School. I have two children. One is in 7th grade and the other is in 5th. Both of my children have told me that OB Intermediate is their favorite school. It is by far MY favorite. I have felt welcome there since the first day I entered the school. The principals are friendly and outgoing. The teachers are dedicated and work harder than most of us can imagine for too little pay. I feel very fortunate that my children are able to attend this school. I know they are safe, well cared for, and being challenged academically. Thank you OBIS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2010

I suppose compared to some school this one is ok. I find that they are a bit militant, which is stifling to creativity, independence and growth. The lack of respect for the parents is disappointing and the lunch people make my child feel bad for being in the free lunch program. I feel that there is always an us vs them attitude every time I have to deal with the school. My son's teacher is an exceptional teacher though. She is the reason I have not pulled my son out to homeschool him yet. She's definitely one of the best teachers I've had the pleasure of working with to educate my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2009

I am a parent of 2 children that go here. I am NOT at all impressed with the fact that they want us to sign a contract that states the Parents are the power behind the pupil. Since when? If the parents are the Power behind the pupils then what may I ask are we paying and employing these teachers and school facilty for? They have our children all day. They are the Power behind the Pupil. We the parents are the Power behind what goes on at home. Just another way to push off their responsibilities onto the parents and make us responsible when they fail. We are looking at moving to Arlington TN where the school ratings are 5 star across the board.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2006

2005-06 was our first year in OBIS, and we haven't seen anything that has excited us at this point. My son spent K4-4 at a private school & started attending here once we moved to the area. We moved to the area for the schools and now we are shopping for another private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2006

This has been my daughter's first year at this school. She thinks it is alright and I agree. We are really happy with her teacher but I do not like all the paddling that goes on there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2004

Three of my four children have been stusents at this school. I am looking forward to my fouth to attend. This school has been, by far, the best school in our district. The prinicipals have a geniune concern for the children and help the children continue to smile and thrive. The teachers are just as excellent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2004

They are a wonderful group of people. Ms.Cheyne is the music teacher and she challenges and motivates her students to excel. She is an asset to Olive Branch Schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 59% in 2013.

282 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
70%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

281 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 59% in 2013.

269 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
62%
Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

269 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Writing - Informative Essay

The state average for Writing - Informative Essay was 89% in 2012.

250 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
85%
Scale: % Score 2, 3 or 4

About the tests


Until 2011-2012, terminating in 2012-2013, Mississippi used the Mississippi Writing Assessment Program (MWAP) to test students in grades 4, 7 and 10 in writing. The MWAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above 2 on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

265 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Science Test (MST) to test students in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MST is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 61% 46%
Black 31% 50%
Hispanic 7% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 52%N/A71%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8631 East Pigeon Roost Rd
Olive Branch, MS 38654
Phone: (662) 893-1221

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Desoto County Academy
Olive Branch, MS







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT