Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Oxford High School 2

Posted June 04, 2014
- a parent
Oxford High School has a pretty new building but lots of old attitudes and ways. I agree with an earlier comment: don't believe the hype.

Oxford High School 5

Posted October 10, 2013
- a parent
In response to the "Don't Believe the Hype" comment, I disagree. My child has only been at Oxford High for a couple of months, and I love it. I feel like at Oxford Middle School achievement was actually discouraged. Not so with the high school. Students who want to take rigorous courses are permitted to do so. Everyone urges students to do their best. It's all about encouraging students to do their best. Last year there 12 National Merit Semifinalists out of a class of 224; this year there are 11. Last year 27 seniors (12 percent) had an ACT score of 30 or higher. Eight seniors had ACT scores of 35 or higher. Oxford just has a large group of very talented students and the school does a good job of challenging them. Most students are just average; that's the nature of things. I think Oxford does a good job with all its students. There are lots of clubs, orchestra, band and a host of activities. Is there room for improvement? Always. I think the ninth grade desperately needs a couple of AP courses. But it is my belief that Oxford is the best open-enrollment public school in Mississippi, and compares very favorably with any open-enrollment school in the nation.


Oxford High School 1

Posted September 13, 2012
- a community member
Don't believe the hype. This school does a good job serving about half of it's population. The rest of the students are left to fall by the wayside. The principal is a throwback from an era gone by: paternalistic and condescending. Unfortunately, there are no private school options for high school in Oxford.

Oxford High School 5

Posted December 15, 2011
- a parent
I recently had two children graduate from Oxford High School where they took advantage of the most demanding classes. Both are achieving success at the college level today due to the rigor of those upper level courses and the teachers that guided them. The athletic programs are first-rate with outstanding coaches, but the emphasis is on academics first. Discipline problems and academic problems can prevent kids from participating in all contests until those problems are taken care of. There is an alcohol problem among the students because this is a college town, so make sure you know where your kids are at all times. Random drug testing for all who participate in extracurriculars helps kids to say no in difficult social situations. That has turned out to be a good thing. It is a safe place to live and the schools are equal to or better than any in the state.

Oxford High School 5

Posted March 12, 2010
- a student
It is a great school and even though they are strict it will allways be with us for life.


Oxford High School 2

Posted November 18, 2009
- a parent
Last year, I would have given this school a five star rating based on academic achievements, teachers, extra-curricular activities offered, and safety. Unfortunately, this year education is taking a back seat to ridiculous levels of control over procedures. The result being childish power struggles within administration, teachers caught in the middle and a frustrated student body that deserves much better. How sad it is to read a staff editorial in the school paper requesting the adults to start acting like adults!

Oxford High School 4

Posted October 26, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Oxford High School 5

Posted January 17, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Oxford High School 2

Posted October 15, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Oxford High School 1

Posted May 28, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Oxford High School
222 Bramlett Blvd, Oxford, MS  38655
(662) 234-1562
Last modified Oxford High School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Oxford High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top