Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
8 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 15 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Cherokee Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted February 03, 2016
- a parent
To the principal, teachers and members of the cafeteria. For their attention and care to my son and help in his needs for adaptation at school.

Cherokee Elementary School 4

Posted February 03, 2016
- a parent
My child is happy and learning a lot. The teachers help him and look forward to getting to know him better. We just can from Puerto Rico in January 2016.I was concern that the language barrier cannot demonstrate the capacity or learning is limited but I was wrong.. He is very excited and enthusiastic.


Cherokee Elementary School 1

Posted September 10, 2014
- a parent
Some teachers are good, some others are mediocre, the principal is a yeller and the gossip nest is a never ending story. It is not a super bad school, but it can be better. I'm a parent and I have to prepare my self emotionally before going to school because I know I will have to deal with not pleasant people.

Cherokee Elementary School 2

Posted April 12, 2014
- a parent
I you ever want somebody to make feel you inferior, look down on you or talk about other child parents at the office while other parents are present, that's the place to be. If something happens they don't make questions only assumptions. Some parents refuse to visit, get involved or participate in school activities because of this. Sad. This year my son is lucky to have an excellent teacher.

Cherokee Elementary School 2

Posted August 31, 2011
- a parent
The administration and staff are a nightmare. I had some very disappointing experiences there. No ethic at all. Few teachers are very cooperative, excellent and professional. Overall it was 5 frustrating years. I can see now my children improving a lot since I moved to somewhere. else.


Cherokee Elementary School 5

Posted November 07, 2008
- a parent
I feel that Cherokee is an amazing school. I have two children there, and could not be happier with all aspects. My only wish is that more parents would give of their time to be of assistance to the staff and students. Many thanks to Mrs. Bankston and the office staff for their support in everything PTO does. We appreciate you.

Cherokee Elementary School 5

Posted September 25, 2008
- a community member
I am a grandparent of two students at Cherokee. I have attended the grandparents day for two years and have enjoyed it tremendously. I have also attended a work day at the school sponsored by our church. The principal met us there and stayed to assist us. I enjoyed this event as well.

Cherokee Elementary School 2

Posted September 18, 2008
- a parent
The teachers are wonderful but the administration and staff are not. Many in my community have had negative experiences. They are quick to jump to conclusions and slow to assist. My neighbor received a letter from the proincipal addressed to the wrong name. They used neither her last name or her chldrens last name. They have sent home paperwork with grammatical errors. I am grateful for my daughters teacher She is wornderful. I just wish the support staff were equally wonderful.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cherokee Elementary School
4102 Scovel Rd, Pascagoula, MS  39581
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. (228) 938-6547
Last modified Cherokee Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-4. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top