Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-1 & Ungraded|Public district
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
9 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 17 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Pearl Lower Elementary School 5

Posted June 20, 2016
- a parent
My son has done well since starting Kindergarten at Pearl Lower Elementary. I was worried that he would fall behind because he was not reading when he started Kindergarten, but he just finished 1st grade and he is on a 3rd grade reading level. He also got the highest AR score in his class for the year. I am very pleased with the teaching and the staff.

Pearl Lower Elementary School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted June 15, 2016
- a parent
I would like to not single out anyone, but give a huge thanks to principals, teachers, student teachers and all staff at Pearl Lower Elementary.


Pearl Lower Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted June 15, 2016
- a parent
I believe all the teachers are teaching in a way that the majority of the children in this school are able to understand what they are teaching.

Pearl Lower Elementary School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted June 15, 2016
- a parent
I sometimes think that the homework is a little much. I think that it possibly could be cut down a little bit without forgoing any lasting effects

Pearl Lower Elementary School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted June 15, 2016
- a parent
My son has made leaps and bounds in learning. When he started kindergarten he could not even read. Within 3 months he was reading sentences. Now at 7 he is reading on a 3rd grade level.


Pearl Lower Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 28, 2010
- a community member
Some of the most committed teachers anywhere.

Pearl Lower Elementary School 5

Posted March 31, 2009
- a teacher
As first grade teachers at Pearl Lower, we strongly feel that we provide a safe, loving, and encouraging atmosphere. The skills that are taught are aligned with the Mississippi State Benchmarks. We take the skills and set high expectations to meet the individual goals of each student. Therefore the students at Pearl are encouraged to go above and beyond. We do not send home skills for homework that have not been previously taught. We strongly believe in meeting our schools mission: The mission of Pearl Public School District is to prepare each student to become life long learners, achieve individual goals, and positively impact a global society.

Pearl Lower Elementary School 4

Posted March 24, 2009
- a parent
This school is great in theory. They have access to great learning resources, take great field trips, and the environment is very comfortable and safe. However, as a parent I am concerned that the students are being pushed to hard with the current curriculum. My 1st grader has had to do geometry & algebra (no exaggerating). The in class writing assignments are on a 3rd grade level. The students, teachers, and after school caregivers are frustrated. The teachers recognize this curriculum is too advanced, but are in no position to do anything about it. As a parent, homework time is upsetting. I find myself having to be a teacher b/c my child isn't getting the information during school hours. We do assignments that require 2 sometimes 3 hours. I think that is a bit much for 1st graders. I know they mean well, but some things need to be changed.


Pearl Lower Elementary School 5

Posted June 25, 2008
- a parent
My child loves it there. It has been a very good experience. Highly recommened!

Pearl Lower Elementary School 5

Posted January 04, 2008
- a parent
My husband and I love the schools in Pearl. We moved from Montgomery, Alabama where my oldest son had a horrible experience in kindergarten thru 2nd grade. We are so thankful for the great teachers in Pearl. They actually care about our children.

Nearby schools

Pearl Lower Elementary School
160 Mary Ann Dr, Pearl, MS  39208
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. (601) 932-7976
Last modified Pearl Lower Elementary School is a Public school
Top