Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Pearl High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 1060 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 30, 2009

academics are high but the spirit is outstanding,especially the marching band.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Pearl High School has a great academic program. The Pearl Band is an award winning band every year. So many great things are happening at this great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2007

I am a former student of Pearl High School. The School's academic program is excellent, and challenging. The school's art program is exceptional as well, Mr. Box is one of the best teachers I had in high school and w.hile i was there, as a true mentor in developing my skills as an artist. Pearl is an excellent school, and I will not allow my children to go anywhwere else
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 7, 2005

I am a former student from PHS, and would hope my comment matters to parents. I and my brother, along with 3 sisters attended PHS, our view of this school is this: PHS has the highest standards for education. student-teacher-parent relations are the key to education. The staff beleive in helping,coaching, and encouraging students to not only do well, but do their best. my thanks to the teachers and staff.(coach barnett was and remains a great influence in our lives ............coach, thankyou for showing and teaching me how to learn........it helped me a lot, I now have to apply science,math, and basic skills with communications(english) to perform a job with a national company).
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 5, 2005

My daughter had attended Richland High before moving to Pearl. She was unhappy bored and unchallenged, Pearl High changed that, the teachers taught on a college level. Pearl High has an excellent art program, sports, and academics. If you want your child to have a well-rounded education I suggest this school. My daughter is now a graduate of Pearl High School and now she is attending an Ivy League school. Thanks to her teachers at Pearl High who pushed her and made her what she is today. -Very Greatful Parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2005

My daughter is a student at Pearl High School. Before moving to Pearl we lived in Jackson where she attended Murrah High School. Since moving to Pearl she has met many interesting and faithful friends. Her academic progress has increased dramatically as well as her involvment in school activities. Beofre moving to Pearl, she had never belonged to any social clique or school sponsered activities. Now, at Pearl, she is involved in umerous clubs and groups as well as the choir. Thankyou Pearl High School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2003

I Think this school should get recognition in this state of Mississippii. The school has a fantastic staff of teachers and faculty. The school is currently a level 5 which is the highest in Mississippi which was given to them because of High test schools. Athletics are great.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Writing - Informative Essay

The state average for Writing - Informative Essay was 97% in 2012.

242 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
99%
Scale: % Score 2, 3 or 4

About the tests


Until 2011-2012, terminating in 2012-2013, Mississippi used the Mississippi Writing Assessment Program (MWAP) to test students in grades 4, 7 and 10 in writing. The MWAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above 2 on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

237 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
97%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 63% in 2013.

290 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
98%
English II

The state average for English II was 59% in 2013.

293 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
88%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 62% in 2013.

227 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Subject Assessment Testing Program (SATP) to test students in English II, writing, algebra I, biology I and U.S. history at the completion of each course. Students must pass all parts of the SATP in order to graduate from high school. The SATP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 63% 46%
Black 30% 50%
Hispanic 6% 3%
Asian 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 54%N/A71%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

500 Pirate Cove
Pearl, MS 39208
Phone: (601) 932-7931

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Faith Academy
Pearl, MS




New Summit School
Jackson, MS


Murrah High School
Jackson, MS


Power Apac School
Jackson, MS


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT