Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
4-5 & Ungraded
Public
Pearl, MS
Students enrolled: 614

4 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Pearl Upper School 2

Posted February 24, 2012
- a community member
My grand daughter attends this school, she comes home crying 3 or 4 times a week.

Pearl Upper School 5

Posted April 16, 2010
- a parent
I have had three children go through the Upper Elementary, and couldn't be more please. They have always provided a safe learning enviroment and quality programs. My children loved the variety offered in their special classes. Music was so much more than just sitting in a chair singing from a book. They had the oppertunity to play actual instruments, such as drums, guitars and xylophones. One of the best P.E. programs around. Each of my children has experienced the growth of this program from an empty gym that was brand new to a climbing wall, Dance, Dance Revolution, and archery just to name a few of the things they have going on. The library teachers really challenged my children to read more with the special program they have offered over the years. Jr. Great Books, Battle of the Book & the AR program are great motivator for young readers.


Pearl Upper School 5

Posted April 15, 2010
- a community member
Wonderful school with caring teachers and administration. When you visit you see a very clean building with friendly staff and happy children. The children learn in a safe environment. There are school rules which are enforced fairly. Music and PE teachers are outstanding!

Pearl Upper School 0
no rating

Posted October 26, 2009
- a parent
I have a daughter who goes to Pearl Upper Elementary. They have provided her with excellent opportunities to learn about music, computers, science, PE, library systems and the other subjects. I am so impressed with their ability to create well-rounded students in every subject matter.

Pearl Upper School 3

Posted June 11, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Pearl Upper School 5

Posted August 18, 2005
- a parent
I have a son at Pearl Upper Elementary and had a daughter go through the school. It is a great school with many new and innovative programs. Students learn guitar in Music and rock-climbing in P.E. The Library program promotes reading with a reading incentive program called Battle of the Books. Students are allowed to talk at lunch and there is even classical music playing in the background. The hand clasps while walking down the hall is a program called Brain Gym. Recess is 20 minutes everyday . We have had a great experience at this school and my children have loved their teachers. Pearl Schools aren't for everyone because they do have a district-wide discipline policy that they adhere to. They do not tolerate misbehavior and it shows in the learning environment they have created for the students in their care. A great place to learn!

Pearl Upper School 5

Posted August 17, 2005
- a parent
Pearl Upper Elementary is a great school with many new and innovative programs. The hand clasps in the hallway is a program called 'Brain Gym'. Do your research, the school did before they implemented it. Recess is 5 days a week (20 minutes) and Music, Library and P.E. are once a week. They do learn to play guitar in Music and the kids do rock climbing (on a brand new rock climbing wall!) in P.E. The Library program promotes reading with a reading incentive program called Battle of the Books. My kids love it! Pearl Schools aren't for everyone. Yes, they do stand behind their staff and teachers when problems arise. Misbehavior is not tolerated and shouldn't be in any school.

Pearl Upper School 4

Posted March 15, 2005
- a parent
Hmmm...well I have a child in Pearl Upper and he has never said anything about having to clasp his hands in the hall. Many schools require the children to place one finger to their mouth and the other in the air. This is to ensure order...you know, the kids keeping their hands to themselves and not talking. The lunches aren't any worse than they were when I was a child but my kid takes his lunch if he doesn't like what's on the menu. And they are allowed to talk at lunch...quietly. If it gets out of hand then they are not to talk. Recess...in 4th grade...is once a week. But considering they get out at 2:30, no big deal again. The academics are good. My son is finally being challenged.He has even been placed in a higher reading class. They teach guitar in music and have a great PE prgram


Pearl Upper School 1

Posted February 19, 2005
- a parent
We moved here temporarily with our twins until we could build in Brandon. After five months we are getting out NOW! There is no recess. The children are told to clasp their hands and bring them up to their chins when walking in the halls. No talking ever...not even at lunch. Their lunches? Do yourself a favor. Request a menu from Brandon Elementary and then one from Pearl...compare. The lunches are HORRIBLE! There's no rewards programs of any kind. One of our children is in the gifted program there and that's the only down time he has all week. We've had numerous meetings with the principal, teachers and staff...even one with the Superintendent. They all side with each other and nothing ever gets done. We feel the teachers are rude, harsh and one of my twins said he's only seen his teacher smile once all year! Run quickly!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Pearl Upper School
180 Mary Ann Dr, Pearl, MS  39208
(601) 932-7981
Last modified Pearl Upper School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Pearl Upper School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top