Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Petal Primary School

Public | PK-2 & ungraded | 944 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 19, 2013

At first I loved this school and I'm not saying its a bad school....however this school was not right in some their actions. If you have a child that seems to having trouble then this not the school for you. They will blame the parent before talk to you about your child. It's unfair and it caught me off guard. My child's needs were not first and they could not give me a answer on how they would help my child. I did everything I could to help at home and went beyond to even suggest things I was doing but nobody listen and my child was still failing. Plus it hurt my child you could see it in their eyes. The teacher had washed her hands of child, so therefore my child gave up. They felt like a outsider. This is a ok school but not for me or my kids!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

I teach in the most amazing school and school district in Mississippi. Not only do I enjoy teaching wonderful 3rd and 4th grade students music everyday, but I get the opportunity to work with the most talented teaching staff in the world. I am blessed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

We are a community oriented school. With Camp Shelby in Hattiesburg, we have a lot of people that come to the area from all over the country. Many of them when faced with the decision of where to live choose Petal because of our great schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

Because it has great teachers that go the extra mile to work with our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

The faculty at petal elementary have a love for children and a desire to encourage all kids to rise to their potential.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Great school with great teachers and administrators.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

This school has a wonderful relationship with the community and really nurtures and cares for its students. I am impressed with how this school is always trying to push its students to do more and believes in their potential.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

I am proud to live in Petal and send my daughter to Petal Elementary School. This is a wonderful community of supportive families and teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

I love our school because it has a group of well educated teachers that make learning fun for the kids. These teachers genually love each and every one of the children and hope that they love and learning experience they give them will take them far in life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

I love the New Petal Primary School. The teachers really care about the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2005

Petal Elementary has wonderful academic programs. Reading is a vital part of the school. Their are music and art programs avaiable. Their is a good aports association for extra curricula sports. The teachers really care about the children in their class. The parental involvement is good. There is a strong volunteer program. Keep up the good work!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

Oops! We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Public and charter school test scores for most states come from the state Department of Education. The most common reasons we might not have this data are either that not enough students took the test or that the school was recently opened, and its scores have not yet been reported.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 78% 46%
Black 14% 50%
Hispanic 5% 3%
Two or more races 2% 0%
Asian 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 59%N/A71%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

60 Herrington Rd
Petal, MS 39465
Phone: (601) 554-7244

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Alpha Christian School
Hattiesburg, MS





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT