Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Picayune Junior High School

Public | 7-8 & ungraded | 13 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 18, 2014

I am reading the reviews I am new to picayune should I be worry about sending my kids here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

The Picayune Junior High school is a great school. The only thing I don't like about it is all the rules. Some of them are just ridiculous. 7/10.


Posted July 15, 2009

I absoulutly hate this school! The school has barley any electives and after school activities. The environment is terrible. We are treated like juvinile deliquints. It feels like we're in juvie or private school. If we really wanted to go to private school or juvie, then we would go, but no we are going to PJHS. They dont trust us at all and the princable is kinda cheesey and up-tight. As a privlage we get to wear jeans on fridays...sometimes. We should be able to wear jeans all the time. The staff is okay, but the school is just terrible... i begged my mom to home-school me because thats how much i hated it!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 15, 2009

I went to the Picayune Junior High School not too long ago. Most teachers used to care about is finding kids to punish. They used to punish kids for everything. It was a strict school with limited freedom. They would not let you do anything. They care more about finding kids to punish instead of giving us education. They even gave us contests just to come to school. The uniform is 100% violation to freedom. We should have been able to wear our clothes and get to have lockers, but that freedom was taken away because of some kids a few years back. Overall, I hated it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 29, 2007

I think it is a good school with a lot to offer. However, it should offer some more advanced classes. This school system has way to much politics involved in its decisions. It isn't what's best for the kids, it is what the state will like. They are too worried about NCLB that they forget about the kids that breeze by the entire year, not challenged a bit. Not to mention, the student body here doesn't present the best environment. I think the big problem is, the school has a rule against everything, instead of limiting. I think if the school treated kids more like adults, they would act more like adults. But when you bombard them with all kinds of restrictions, they rebel. But I have learned a good deal at this school and they have a lot of great teachers here. That's about it. Thanks.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 24, 2007

As a current student there I think it is a very nice school. The teachers are great, the principal and the assistant principal are awsome, & it has fun extra-curricular activities for us to get involved in. The one thing that me and my parents do not like about the school is the uniform policy. We think we should be able to wear regular clothes.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 24, 2006

This is a very weak school system, with the small-town mentality of sports and dance over curriculum. My child has had to bus to a nearby school district to take advanced courses, and will be leaving the district as a result of the poor academic fare offered. Exceedingly poor school district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2005

Great school, wonderful new technology in the classroom. Family atmosphere, LEVEL 5 school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2004

My experience with this school was not a pleasant one. I had one child that went through this school and I believe it made him lose interest in school. The teachers from my experience were not very interested in parent involvement. Everything was focused on behavior and what the student is doing wrong. I have not heard any good things about the school. I have since moved out of the area since I have 2 more children and did not want them to go through that school. I have a friend that her 3 children dropped out in jr. High. They have mean spirited people working in that school. There are some good teachers but, there are few. I believe it flows from the head. Who is in charge? They definitely need a change.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 63% in 2013.

302 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
53%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

300 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

284 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
56%
Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

284 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Writing - Informative Essay

The state average for Writing - Informative Essay was 93% in 2012.

296 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
91%
Scale: % Score 2, 3 or 4

About the tests


Until 2011-2012, terminating in 2012-2013, Mississippi used the Mississippi Writing Assessment Program (MWAP) to test students in grades 4, 7 and 10 in writing. The MWAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above 2 on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

287 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
42%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Science Test (MST) to test students in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MST is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

24 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Subject Assessment Testing Program (SATP) to test students in English II, writing, algebra I, biology I and U.S. history at the completion of each course. Students must pass all parts of the SATP in order to graduate from high school. The SATP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 66% 46%
Black 27% 50%
Hispanic 4% 3%
Two or more races 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 73%N/A71%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

702 Goodyear Blvd
Picayune, MS 39466
Phone: (601) 798-5449

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT