Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

9-12|Private
139 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 15 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


The Piney Woods School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted June 27, 2016
- a student
I don't want to mention names, but I would like to thank three teachers for letting us sing, rap, solo in class when we're bored. Because, what's the point of learning?

The Piney Woods School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted June 27, 2016
- a student
Homework doesn't matter in Piney Woods, because nobody cares. We just want to graduate and get out of this place that destroys your life.


The Piney Woods School 2

Posted March 21, 2013
- a parent
YEARS AGO, THIS SCHOOL WAS KNOWN AS A SCHOOL FOR "BAD" KIDS AND SADLY IT IS RETURNING TO THAT. MY SON ATTENDED THIS SCHOOL FOR ABOUT A MONTH BEFORE THE BOTTOM DROPPED OUT. THERE IS A NEW FORM OF BULLYING GOING ON AND PINEY WOODS AND ADMINISTRATORS ARE TOTALLY AND COMPLETELY OBLIVIOUS TO IT! YOUR SON WILL BE FINE IN THE CLASSROOM BUT IN THE DORM ROOM HE WILL BE SUBJECTED TO WANNA BE THUGS' AND A GANG MENTALITY THAT PINEY WOODS CLAIM IT HAS ZERO TOLERANCE FOR AND IS THEREFORE NON-EXISTENT. MY SON WAS FINE AND SO WERE HIS GRADES IN THE CLASSROOM BUT AT NIGHT IN THE DORM ROOM, HE HAD TO CHANGE INTO HIS ARMY FATIGUES AND BE ON PATROL ALL NIGHT LONG! GOOD LUCK AND HOPEFULLY YOUR CHILD WONT BE ON THE 6:00 NEWS! INCIDENTLY, DON'T JUST TAKE MY WORD FOR IT, CHECK OUT THE YOU TUBE FIGHTS THAT HAVE HAPPENED IN THE BOYS DORM ROOM AT PINEY WOODS, ALL OF WHICH OCCUR BECAUSE OF THE LACK OF SUPERVISION IN THE BOYS DORM AS IT IS TRULY THE WEAKEST LINK ON CAMPUS AND SOMEONE IS GOING TO GET SERIOUSLY HURT.

The Piney Woods School 5

Posted August 07, 2007
- a student
Piney Woods is an exceptional school and one of the best schools in Mississippi.

The Piney Woods School 5

Posted January 23, 2007
- a student
I am a former student of Pws. Piney Woods was the best thing that could have happen to me in my teenage years. Pws has taught me the independence,social ability, and the meaning of a good education. Pws has guided me in so many ways that I cannot explain and I love you for that.


The Piney Woods School 4

Posted April 20, 2006
- a student
I am a former student of The Piney Woods School and I highly recommend it to parents. I feel that like everything it has it's problems but if you really want to get an experience that rivials any other thing that can happen in your life you have your child attend this wonderful institution. In fact I have a cousin that will hopefully be attending in the fall. The thing about Piney Woods is that it will challange you as a person and if you meet that challange then the rest of your life will be definatly easier. Reginald Brown(2002-05 and proud alum)

The Piney Woods School 2

Posted December 27, 2005
- a student
I am a former PWS student. I attended PWS from 2002-2005. I have a great deal of respect for the legacy and history of this school and the principles on which it was founded. However, in my 3 years there, I was displeased to find a grave and disappointing disconnect between what the school proported to be in its literature and on its website and what was actually there. The quality of education is poor, the student-teacher ratio is not what they claim it is. The quality of life and food is poor. Extracurricular activites might as well be nonexistent.

The Piney Woods School 5

Posted July 27, 2005
- a parent
Piney Woods School molded my son to be a man who have career goals in his life and determination to achieve his goals. He was accepted to PWS as a eleventh grader and achieve academic excellence within his two years. He is a junior at Morehouse College majoring in Political Science/Economics. Piney Woods School gave my son faculty mentors who gave him a sense of pride and self esteem to conqueror all obstacle he would face as a black male in this society. Thank you, Mr. Whitley,Dr.Beady,Mrs Issac and all the staff for making my son know that he is an important part of this society.


The Piney Woods School 4

Posted July 05, 2005
- a teacher
Good school, but too many issues that need resolution; administratively. There are some exceptional instructors there, but thire 'hands seem to be tied' as it relates to really helping the students. The school is in an excellent environment. If your child is not willing to abide by strict rules & regulations, as well as to extreme discipline, he or she should not consider this school. There used to be a quality choral program there between 1997 and 1999, but that has changed. Academically, the school is good, but needs more sensitivity to its faculty/student/staff.

The Piney Woods School 5

Posted May 12, 2005
- a student
I'm a former student who went to piney woods and it changed my life. I got to be around lots of people from lots of different kids from all around the world and I also had teachers who really care for you. It will be an experiance I will never forget.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Piney Woods School
Po Box 100, Piney Woods, MS  39148
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. (601) 845-2214
Last modified The Piney Woods School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Top