Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

South Pontotoc High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 14 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 8, 2012

This school offers a great band program. The teachers there really care about the students. We had moved from South Pontotoc and decided to move back because South Pontotoc doesn't compare to other schools. Great school. I recommend it to anyone interested.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2010

This school is the best I have ever been too better than the other two schools I attend before.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 18, 2009

South Pontotoc Highschool has high standards for their students. It helps us to grow in our school work and in our community.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 7, 2006

South Pontotoc is a great school that has it's eyes set on the children. They make sure that students there excel in all subjects. They have great teachers that care for the students. Also the extracurricular activities are awesome. Parents, students, friends and all get involved. Parents are at the school helping out and staying a part of their child's life which is very important.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 21, 2005

I have attended South Pontotoc ever since kindergarten. I can easily say that any parent that considers sending their child to South couldn't ask for a better place. The teachers really do care about the students and they will go the extra mile for the students. Not only does South have one of the best educational courses im Mississippi, they have very talented and athletic coaches for football, baseball, basketball, golf, soccer, and track. The coaches focus more on playing time for the players instead of winning every game. Every student that has been transfered to South says they would rather stay at South than go back to thier previous school. Sending your child to South Pontotoc will be the best decision you will ever make for them.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 15, 2005

I attended South Pontotoc a while back and I enjoyed it because the educators care for their students and treat them with respect.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 11, 2005

I have attended south pontotoc all my life. This school as a friendly learning enviroment everyday. I would suggest this school if you or your child wants to have a good education and make more friends than you can keep up with. South Pontotoc has a bunch of extra curricular activities to choose from. South also has a very good sports program going for them. South Pontotoc has been level 5 in overall grades in the state for 4 years in a row. Plus the No Child Left Behind Act really helps for slower learnig kids.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 12, 2005

This school needs to have more activities for students.
—Submitted by an administrator


Posted September 24, 2004

I have attended this school since the 8th grade and I have to say that I haven't received a better education anywhere else that I've attended school at, which has been a good many. All faculty members are very friendly and easy to get along with, and the teachers do an excellent job teaching their students. I also think that the principal, Mr. Roberts, and the assistant principal, Mr. Shaw, should keep up the good work with keeping most of the students in line.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 24, 2004

I have attended this school since I was in the 7th grade, and by stating that I would also like to say that I don't think I could have recieved a better education anywhere else around here. The students here are very involved in extracurricular activities and are very fond of Friday night football games and the Tuesday and Thursday night basketball games.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Writing - Informative Essay

The state average for Writing - Informative Essay was 97% in 2012.

124 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
100%
Scale: % Score 2, 3 or 4

About the tests


Until 2011-2012, terminating in 2012-2013, Mississippi used the Mississippi Writing Assessment Program (MWAP) to test students in grades 4, 7 and 10 in writing. The MWAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above 2 on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
80%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 63% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
91%
English II

The state average for English II was 59% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
81%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 62% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Subject Assessment Testing Program (SATP) to test students in English II, writing, algebra I, biology I and U.S. history at the completion of each course. Students must pass all parts of the SATP in order to graduate from high school. The SATP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 86% 46%
Black 11% 50%
Hispanic 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 56%N/A71%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1523 South Pontotoc Rd
Pontotoc, MS 38863
Phone: (662) 489-5925

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT