Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ridgeland High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 866 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 2, 2014

A great place to learn and have fun. Teachers that care and plenty of extra curricular activities to keep young people involved. The band is top notch!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2014

I think the school is a great school the principle was good and awsome and so was the new they never left a child behind I should know I was a student there I wouldn't been able to graduate if it wasn't for everybody there I wish i could go back but I can't they have great classes for the students and it can be fun at times


Posted July 31, 2012

The best of the best. We looked at many schools, including private schools and when we walked into the Ridgeland schools, we felt at home. Academics is a top priority for our kids and they have performed in the 95%til on national standardized tests, assuring us about the outstanding opportunities here. Teachers respond quickly to parents, stay after school to help, lead clubs, and set a tone of inclusiveness. Small enough that the students feel like they are an important part of the community;big enough to offer a wide variety of AP and advanced classes. Lots of options for all students. 96% go on to college. RHS student won National Poetry Out Loud competition in 2012. Alma mater of 2012 Olympian in, Track and Field.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2012

The new (as of this spring 2012) principal is a massive improvement over the one that was there (see the older comment about the previous person - I agree with that poster). The new principal actually cares about ALL the students, including the ones struggling. If your kid has an IEP though, beware. Expectations are in the toilet (D's are considered all they need to help your kid get to which I asked where in IDEA does it say this?). Not only that it takes considerable advocating to have accommodations for mainstreamed kids in the classrooms actually implemented on a regular basis. It is really frustrating.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2011

WOW- All I can say is that it's ALWAYS a GREAT day to be a TITAN!! The Staff and administrators have always talked with me about issues that I may have had, or in the few instances that my children have had, the door is always open to students if they need someone to talk to, and discipline is fair and evenly handed out- I have had more than one occasion to work with the administrators on any number of issues, some school related, some not- and they have always seemed as if their concern was genuine, I have never felt "put off" by them, nor have I ever felt like my concerns (as few as they may have been) were not being heard! I have always felt like my children are in the BEST place they could possibly be, and the education they are getting is wonderful, and thorough- Ridgeland has found the perfect balance of academics and good times- they give the students a well rounded place to gain their education, and I am so happy and BLESSED to be a TITAN MOM!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2010

Overall the school is a great place for students. However, the principal and certain teacher(s) is/are prone to be pre-judgmental (biased) against certain kids. This is especially true if you rchild makes a mistakes early in the school year, they are quickly branded, even if they are excelling in all other classes. The principal is hotheaded and on multiple occasions has hung up on a parent when the discussion is not going to his liking. Overlook the principal and advise your kids to walked carefully because if they can steer clear of these isolated problems the ywill truly enjoy Ridgeland.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2009

Ridgeland High School is one of the most impressive schools I've seen. The teachers are very competent, caring, preparing their students for the future. The campus alone shows how much education means to the community - fabulous! Our granddaughter is in the Band and I must say that 'Mr. Mac' is one of the most valuable assets of RHS. The band sounds like a symphony if you close your eyes! He has molded and taught these young people to excel and become top notch musicians, while LOVING band ! He is to be commended !!!


Posted June 12, 2009

My name is adrian dinkins and i just loved being at ridgeland high school. I just graduated this year and i am glad that i was blessed to go to rhs. The teacher are outstanding and the principles there are the greatest with the students and the involment within the community
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 19, 2008

I have taught at Ridgeland High School since it opened in 2002. This school is made up of the most hard working teachers and students that I have ever met. Each day everyone strives to achieve bigger and better things. The atmosphere is very positive and everyone seems to really enjoy being at RHS. Every day is a great day to be a Titan!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 19, 2007

I am currently a senior at Ridgeland High school and would not want to be anywhere else. The school is big enough to where you can meet new people, but small enough to always see familiar faces. The accelerated and AP courses are great for college prep and a large variety of school clubs are available.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 25, 2007

I have one child at RHS. I am very pleased with the staff and the operation of the school. The teachers are awesome and they really care about their students. My child is involved in sports and the coaches are the best. In my opinion Ridgeland is the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2007

Ridgeland High School, located in the Madison County School District, is the 2nd fastest growing public school in the State of Mississippi. They are a level 5 school and home of the Titans. They excel in the classroom, in sports, in extracurricular and in student's personal lives after they graduate!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Writing - Informative Essay

The state average for Writing - Informative Essay was 97% in 2012.

211 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
100%
Scale: % Score 2, 3 or 4

About the tests


Until 2011-2012, terminating in 2012-2013, Mississippi used the Mississippi Writing Assessment Program (MWAP) to test students in grades 4, 7 and 10 in writing. The MWAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above 2 on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

155 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
90%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 63% in 2013.

217 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
97%
English II

The state average for English II was 59% in 2013.

190 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
90%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 62% in 2013.

202 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Subject Assessment Testing Program (SATP) to test students in English II, writing, algebra I, biology I and U.S. history at the completion of each course. Students must pass all parts of the SATP in order to graduate from high school. The SATP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 51% 50%
White 41% 46%
Hispanic 5% 3%
Asian 3% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 47%N/A71%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

586 Sunnybrook Rd
Ridgeland, MS 39157
Phone: (601) 898-5023

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

The Veritas School
Ridgeland, MS



Rosa Scott School
Madison, MS





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT