Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Saltillo High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 810 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 16, 2011

We moved our daughter to Saltillo High School from the "City" School and she is doing so much better academically. The teachers care and the students are kind. Thank God for this option!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2011

Highest test scores in the state of Mississippi for 2010. Excellent people. Excellent students. School has a small feel but is plenty big enough to offer a large selection of classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2009

Typical southern highschool . Very clicky. If your child is a transplant from another town & you have money , don't worry your child will be fine. Gotta love the south !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2009

This school is one big clique. If you have money or your family is well known then you will make it, otherwise they will harass you until you are forced to quit. Just a one horse town school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2006

This is an excellent school. I attended k-12 at Saltillo schools and rarely had any problems. There were numerous activites to participate in and there is a place for everyone to fit it. Most of the teachers are excellent and care about their students.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 14, 2005

We have only been in this district. After hearing so much praise about this school I am very disheartened. The guidance counselor is great and I got a phone call from the school nurse first week of school about my childs JRA. This was nice. But this school has no tutoring program although they participate in the NO Child Left Behind Program. MY child has a learning disabiity also. And some time she needs a little extra help. And there has not been any PTA meetings that I know about.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2004

Excellent school! The people are so nice and they really make you feal at home and confident about your child getting a good education. The school has awesome kids as well and they really seem as though they would be excellent friends for one to grow up with! There is also a high sucess rate for both the teachers and the students alongside a wonderfully fun atmosphere! Loved the school!
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Writing - Informative Essay

The state average for Writing - Informative Essay was 97% in 2012.

178 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%
Scale: % Score 2, 3 or 4

About the tests


Until 2011-2012, terminating in 2012-2013, Mississippi used the Mississippi Writing Assessment Program (MWAP) to test students in grades 4, 7 and 10 in writing. The MWAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above 2 on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

221 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
98%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 63% in 2013.

224 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
96%
English II

The state average for English II was 59% in 2013.

236 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
96%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 62% in 2013.

191 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Subject Assessment Testing Program (SATP) to test students in English II, writing, algebra I, biology I and U.S. history at the completion of each course. Students must pass all parts of the SATP in order to graduate from high school. The SATP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 88% 46%
Black 9% 50%
Asian 1% 1%
Hispanic 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 41%N/A71%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

146 Tiger Dr
Saltillo, MS 38866
Phone: (662) 869-5466

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Mooreville High School
Mooreville, MS


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT