Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Seminary High School

Public | K-12 & ungraded

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 15, 2012

Seminary needs serious help. I blame the school board and the principles. The classroom are over crowded. Seminary district have 20 or more students per class. The other districts only have about 15 students to a room. The consequences for this injustice are being paid by the students and the teachers. The students are being deprived of the education they so deserve and the teachers are being blamed for their students failing. I am a very upset concerned parent. I am proud that I went to Seminary but I am very disappointed that my daughter CANNOT receive a proper education. Guess I need to think about moving to another county all together so my child can get her education. ROBIN MOONEY MOUDY
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2008

Great School! The teachers really care for their students and my daughters really enjoy going to school at Seminary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2007

The school board needs a big change. I've seen all the thing that realy go on a Seminary and it realy shocked me. All school have prombles but not like this one from the Staff to the kids. It's realy sad. I do not unerstand why the parents don't step up in this communtiy. I'll never send my child back!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 20, 2006

I have attended seminay since kindergarten and am currently in the tenth grade. I can honestly say teachers have never taken out their anger on their students and we do not have a problem with drugs. Whom ever posted the message in november 2005 was really off this school is great and you can not get to a level five without dedicated teachers and students!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 7, 2006

I was in Seminary from the 6th grade up until the 12th. Seminary is a great school it's different, and yes it has problems but what school doesn't? Every school has to deal with drugs and stuff and it's just one of them. I think it has great teachers and a Great principal and i would recommend it to anyone that moves around the area. Brandie Lindsey
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2006

I graduated from Seminary Attendance Center in 2002 and I hold the school to the highest regard. No, Seminary is not your typical school; it's like family. I went to Seminary K-12 grades and of course, like any school, it has it's minor problems; but the other reviews about drug dealers running around like it's The Bronx is totally absurd! The security is great. The teachers go above and beyond the call of duty to help a student in need & they are always there if you need any help. I am honored to say that I graduated from Seminary.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 7, 2006

Seminary is a great school for not only children, but also, preservice teachers. I have a first grader enrolled, I am a graduate from Seminary, and as a preservice teacher I do a great amount in class observations. I see firsthand the passion teachers have toward their students and their education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2005

I think Seminary is a horrible place to let children go to school! There are drugs everywhere on campus. My child comes home every day saying that they hate Seminary because of all the drugs. My child also talks about quitting school because of the drug problem. I asked my child about transfering to a different school but they say no because of their friends! The teachers have really bad tempers, and they take their anger out on the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2005

I have 3 children that attend Seminary and I have nothing but good to say for the teachers and staff. The teachers go that extra mile to make sure the students learn the material as well as make sure they are safe and drug free. As far as Seminary having christian standards, well of course we do! Our teachers and staff have something most schools don't and that is 'Morals'. If you want your children well taught, safe, and raised old fashioned Seminary is the place to raise them! As far as drugs, well everyone has that problem, but we at Seminary take our problem very serious and dealers are dealt with harshly! Semiary is a very 'parent involved' school and we are proud of our school and community!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2005

I think it is a wonderful school. The teachers are great they try there best to have a little one on one with the students. The principal is wonderful. I would highly recomend any one to send ther kids there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2004

Seminary is a great place to raise your family. The teachers are great!! The new principal is doing a good job of keeping everything under control. Campus security keep a close eye on the happenings also. They have several new buildings for extensive classroom learning. The students work well with the 'mentally' and 'physically' challenged students that attend the school. The staff are really friendly and want to help in any way they can. The teachers give extra work in case your child didn't understand a previous lesson, to help pull their grade up. I highly recommend Seminary Attendance Center if you will be living near Covington County.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 30, 2004

This is a terrible school. There is no diversity. Everyone is conformed to stereotypical christian standards. The facilities are from the stone ages. They have students selling drugs on campus. It's unsafe. The teachers can't control their students. They have a program called 'ISS' and...well. let's just say it's a complete joke. Seminary, MS is a terrible place to raise your children.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 16, 2003

The teachers are great and they will try anything to help your child succeed. The new principal is doing a great job. It is overall a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
0%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Curriculum Test, 2nd Edition (MCT2) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts and math. The MCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Writing - Informative Essay

The state average for Writing - Informative Essay was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % Score 2, 3 or 4

About the tests


Until 2011-2012, terminating in 2012-2013, Mississippi used the Mississippi Writing Assessment Program (MWAP) to test students in grades 4, 7 and 10 in writing. The MWAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above 2 on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Writing - Informative Essay

The state average for Writing - Informative Essay was 93% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % Score 2, 3 or 4

About the tests


Until 2011-2012, terminating in 2012-2013, Mississippi used the Mississippi Writing Assessment Program (MWAP) to test students in grades 4, 7 and 10 in writing. The MWAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above 2 on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Writing - Informative Essay

The state average for Writing - Informative Essay was 97% in 2012.

104 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
92%
Scale: % Score 2, 3 or 4

About the tests


Until 2011-2012, terminating in 2012-2013, Mississippi used the Mississippi Writing Assessment Program (MWAP) to test students in grades 4, 7 and 10 in writing. The MWAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above 2 on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Science Test (MST) to test students in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MST is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Mississippi Science Test (MST) to test students in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MST is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Subject Assessment Testing Program (SATP) to test students in English II, writing, algebra I, biology I and U.S. history at the completion of each course. Students must pass all parts of the SATP in order to graduate from high school. The SATP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 63% in 2013.

135 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
90%
English II

The state average for English II was 59% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
64%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 62% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Mississippi used the Subject Assessment Testing Program (SATP) to test students in English II, writing, algebra I, biology I and U.S. history at the completion of each course. Students must pass all parts of the SATP in order to graduate from high school. The SATP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Mississippi. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Mississippi Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 62% 46%
Black 38% 50%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 3%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 61%N/A71%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

200 Main St
Seminary, MS 39479
Phone: (601) 722-3220

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT